We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal Ive eaten in Sri Lanka was at Kandy View Hotel.”
Review of Kandy View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kandy View Hotel
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best meal Ive eaten in Sri Lanka was at Kandy View Hotel.”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Well worth the effort to find this place.Cool rooftop vibe and nice views. Excellent service and without doubt the best meal Ive had in Lovely Lanka. Bon appetit! (HB, Sydney, Australia)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonieJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    196
    96
    52
    60
See reviews for
82
224
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2012

A great place to relax in the restaurant with helpful staff able to organise tours to suit, transport or give local advise. Good value for money if basic and would benefit from a little more up to date maintenance. That said we had no complaints from our 2 children and enjoyed the days spent in Kandy with thanks to the staff.

Room Tip: Main suite under the restaurant had good views and sitting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziptoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Hotel located on very steep hill. Quite a climb if walking up with backpack.

Room was tiny, but nice, clean beds. No proper drainage from bathroom. Looked like some sewage was spilling out behind building. But nice balconies outside rooms on upper levels.

Gorgeous rooftop restaurant, with plenty of opportunities to meet other travelers. Food was so-so, a bit overpriced.

Staff were extremely helpful.

Overall, good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnovelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We spent our first three nights of a three week trip to Sri Lanka at Kandy View, and - for the price we paid - we would find it difficult to fault it. We had one of the deluxe rooms at the top and the double aspect view alone made it worth the money. Like other reviewers, I would say that the rooms are basic in terms of amenities, but ours was clean and roomy. The manager was very helpful and really on top of his game. The staff were lovely, particularly to our four year old son. The hotel is up a hill, about 10 minutes walk from the lake, but we found this a great advantage as it was very peaceful. The food was cheap and plentiful and, as other guests have noted, the restaurant was a good place to eat and chat to other tourists/visitors if you wanted. The pool is small, but refreshing. For a more extended swim, we used Devon Hotel just down the road (200 Rs for a day pass). We went to some much 'finer', more expensive hotels throughout our stay, that were far less well run than this one. I would recommend Kandy View to anyone who was expecting more than they paid for.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top are probably worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlostatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

5 of us stayed here for only one night whilst on a trip around the cultural triangle, We were welcomed by the manager and a free juice apon arrival, which was nice. The rooms are average but clean. We ate at the resturant and the food was good. Would stay again but only for a short time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed here for a few days in March 2012 in a top floor "deluxe" room. The room isnt overly "deluxe" but totally fine for our needs. It was clean, the bed comfortable, air con quiet and everything worked fine.
The view from the open air restaurant area is stunning. We actually ate here every night. Usually the rice and curry option which became our staple around Sri Lanka as it provides great value for money and 4-5 different tastes.
The included breakfast here was the best we had anywhere in the country with lots of different options and the manager even arranged to have a simple breakfast waiting for us at reception when we had to leave at 5.30am on our last morning.
We decided we liked being up high looking down over the city rather than being down amongst it as its far more relaxed and quiet. Yes it is up a steep hill but thats how you get the great views. We would walk down to town and get a cheap tuk tuk back.
The manager and staff bent over backwards to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Very impressed.
The only small faults with this place is the balconies are very narrow and have low railings which could be potentially dangerous but i would just suggest not going out on them as there isnt even enough room for a chair anyway.
Also the pool is a great addition but there is not enough room around it to lie.
In general this place is excellent for the price. We stayed in more expensive places that didnt offer half of what the Kandy View had in terms of room and overall hotel experience.
I would definately recommend it

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two top floor front lake facing rooms for a better view. You cant see the lake fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Had a great stay at Kandy View Hotel. The staff are excellent and very helpful and they do what they can to make your stay a lifetime memory. The terrace/restaurant became a natural meeting point where guest connected and got to know each other over a drink in the evening after dinner. The food is excellent so it is no reason to find a more expensive place down in the city as it will not taste better then here. Cooking classes is offered with the chef if you would like to get to know how to handle the chillies and cook up a feast when you return back home.
The rooms are basic but clean and if you do not plan to spend the days in the hotel I think it will not be a too big issue as the price is a really bargin for this hotel.
The Hotel is located on the hill but does not provide a view of the Kandy Lake but you have a nice view down towards the city. If you walk back home from Kandy be prepared that the hill is very long and step so you better be fit if you decide to walk home. I will for sure stay at Kandy View Hotel again if I pass by Kandy again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hakan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
0.2 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 54 in Kandy
188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 54 in Kandy
485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#32 of 54 in Kandy
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
1.8 mi away
Heavens Holiday Resort
Heavens Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Mahawaththa
83 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Sunrich
Hotel Sunrich
#42 of 54 in Kandy
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy View Hotel

Property: Kandy View Hotel
Address: Ampitiya Road | 40, 22 Hillpankandura, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kandy View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing