We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, friendly service, but needs improvement”
Review of Kandy View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kandy View Hotel
Ranked #39 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view, friendly service, but needs improvement”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We booked this budget option hotel via Agoda. Getting there by tuk-tuk was no problem, but it did seem quite a distance from the main attraction areas of Kandy. The view from our room was magnificent, made better by the floor to ceiling windows. We even got to see a family of monkeys playing around in the trees just below one morning. The "balcony", if you can even call it that, could use some work though. It is simply a very narrow strip of concrete, about 2 feet wide. There's barely enough room to fit a chair. We had to turn it sideways to make it fit. The railing is thin and if you push/lean on it, there is plenty of give. So please don't do it! The rest of the room was average at best, but the bathroom was terrible. The water from the sink was just a trickle and the shower needed some fiddling with in order to get working. At times it would just shut off randomly or the water pressure would decrease to but a few drops, very annoying when you're covered in soap! The toilet was in the weirdest position ever! It was facing the shower in the corner, but positioned in a way that it only left about half a foot of space in front. So, if you need to sit on the toilet, the only real way to fit was to sit sideways.

Other than that, our stay was quite nice and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was great and the hotel provided laundry service for a reasonable price.

Getting to and from the center of town can prove troublesome. It seems you need to have a driver arranged as there are no taxis/tuk-tuks waiting for work outside. One day after spending the entire day touring around, we decided to walk back to the hotel from the lake area. We didn't think it would be difficult but ended up getting lost several times. The locals were helpful in pointing us the right direction, but we still had trouble. We ended up on the wrong side of the hill and had to go through the unfinished building next door to get around to the front. We were lucky that worked out for us, so word of advice - make sure you know the way if you are going to hike! ;)

One more quick note: wifi was only available in the restaurant area.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the upper floor that has a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    196
    96
    52
    60
See reviews for
82
224
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I visited Kandy a few days ago, and I chose the Kandy View Hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. The location is good - up on a steep hill, but that allows the traveler to have a good view - and not far from the lake. Tuktuks are plenty, so no need to worry about the uphill walk. I took a cheaper room - I recommend my fellow travelers to go for the slightly dearer option, as the difference in quality would be worth it. My room, on the down side, was located near the reception hence a little bit noisy, had old power outlets, and the used sink water was overflowing into the shower basin - when I complained they told me that this is the case with the cheaper rooms, not with the more expensive ones. While I was not allowed to bring a durian in, they kindly provided me with a plate and knife to have it near the pool area, so that was ok. If I were to return to Kandy, I would go to the same hotel but - as mentioned before - I would get a more expensive room.

Room Tip: Get the more expensive room option, not the cheapest variety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virgiliupop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We (me and my wife) have just returned from a 1-week stay at Kandy View Hotel. Brilliant! We have received everything we were promised and a lot extra. The location is superb, the hotel facilities are great, the rooms are clean (and if you get a deluxe on the top level you might get a room with two glass walls / French windows - this is what I call a room with a view), the food is varied and tasty, the prices are very low. And the staff is extremely friendly and honest! To sum up, we had a wonderful experience. No negative words, all are superlatives.

Good job, Kanchana: you have a great team and a great hotel.

Room Tip: Go for rooms 101 or 102. They are just ... extraordinary (two glass walls / French windows through w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cezar_Mihaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

5 minute tuk tuk ride from the centre of town. Views of valley around kandy but not of town or lake.
Decrepit bathroom - it was difficult to tell whether it was dirty or old. Upon closer inspection the dark marks around the bath/shower were layers of mould.
The basin was not fixed to the wall.
The sewage pipe from the toilet was loose therefore each time we flushed the floor was flooded with the contents of the toilet bowl.
The mattresses were the cheapest quality and smelt musty.
The window to the communal balcon in our room would not close securely.
WOULD ABSOLUTELY NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWANDFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We were just travelling from Sigiriya to Adam's Peak and needed a stopover somewhere.

The rooms are quite mundane and the service ok. There's instant hot water and our room was clean. The pillows however were really thin. We took a deluxe room so the view was floor-to-ceiling, a nice touch if we were at the frontage (alas we had only the side room left). The swimming pool is too small for any real swimming so don't count on doing any swimming here.

Food is ok. It's normal street restaurant standard. But it's definitely overpriced (at least 50% more for the same foods found in town). We didn't want to trek all the way down for a meal and if we took a three wheeler back and fro, we would have ended up spending the same amount and wasted time.

The view from the restaurant level is not bad. You can see quite a bit when you laze around, using the wifi.

For the price, it's reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaneng7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This hotel is very good value - if you consider you get what you pay for you cannot fault it. The rooms are very basic but they are clean and the bathrooms could do with an update but they are functional and plenty of hot water, towels were thin but readily renewed when requested. Food in the restaurant was good and always served with a smile. The open rooftop restaurant is a great way to meet fellow travellers and the manager was always willing to do what he could do help and be accommodating.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 495Hilaryjeant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is a hotel located from the hustle and bustle of the Kandy city. You can see the whole Kandy city from the balcony of the hotel. The Manager and staff are very cooperative and look after our interests.
This is a good hotel to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smith l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 53 in Kandy
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#32 of 53 in Kandy
177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 53 in Kandy
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 53 in Kandy
687 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow
0.6 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#20 of 53 in Kandy
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy View Hotel

Property: Kandy View Hotel
Address: Ampitiya Road | 40, 22 Hillpankandura, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kandy View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing