We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kandy View Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sevana City Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$33
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveller rating
145
203
100
55
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
203
100
55
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantthe open air restaurantthe ownertuk tukbudget hotelnice viewsri lankacurrydeluxe roomssmall poolamazing viewsthree nightsnice place to staysurrounding hillsdriverlakejungle
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 565 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Want to enjoy your Sri Lanka holiday? well... here's a suggestion based from our experiences after our visit (October 24-29, 2012): Must not forget Kandy in your itinerary, and while in Kandy... stay at KANDY VIEW HOTEL, why? Price is affordable: foods - delicious: Staff - polite, hospitable: Location - good, peaceful and amazing views around the hotel: Room - wide enough for two occupants, l...Thank you very much from all of us for the unforgettable moments with you! See you again someday guys. What we can say is that you all guys are truly amazing!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RomeoMuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The hotel was great, staff lovely, good breakfast, good sized room. although we didn't opt to go on a trip, they seemed have a good service for day trips.
however, the swimming is unusable as it is in an unfortunate exposed position right next to the front entrance, the road and when we were there, a building site with lots of builders!
also, the location means a tuk-tuk is required and if you can't afford it (like us) a long walk.
great town though!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 78Ellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

From the moment we checked in until we checked out, our stay was great. The staff were exceptional, the owner, Kanchana was extremely helpful a number of times, organising a day trip around Kandy, another day trip to Sigirya and also assisting in us being able to watch the mighty Sydney Swans win the AFL Grand Final on the Australia network.

Breakfast on the balcony upstairs every morning was also a highlight.

Fond Regards,

Trish and Greg

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArnandTwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

ABSOLUTELY NOTHING good to say about the Kandy View Hotel besides the location on the mountain. Start with, the Manager/Owner of the hotel is extremely RUDE and no guest courtesy whatsoever but behind every dollar he earns!
Room: First we got a room, in which Balcony Door "Lock" was totally broken so from neighbouring room anyone can enter to our room, it looks the lock was broken years ago. When we complained the Manager/Owner came and said he didnt know as no one complained! Basically, he didn't want to accept that he purposely put the guests into a room where no safety. Then we were offered 2nd room in which bathroom was stinking, then we demanded it to be cleaned before we move.
Linen: Bathtowels and bed linen and pillow cases were extremely old, worn out & stains can be so visible on them so very filthy to use them.
Bathroom: In the website it says there are "toileterries" but nothing besides 2-3cm sized piece of soap. There are wholes on wall so mosquittos can come easily. My husband put some toilet papers in the whole to avoid mosquitto coming in. In the bathroom commode is shaking, wash basin is broken & shaking, no hotwater for more than 1 second, shower cabin was extremely dirty (not washed for ages)
Breakfast: is useless (even noticed there were left over food from previous day, raw eggs were just kept on the table under sun and prepare when guest ask, fried egg was disgusting, coffee was not upto the standard, etc).
Bar: when we went to have a drink, the staff was sitting nicely on one & only sofa placed in the Bar and watching TV, but for the guests they pointed out a corner dinning table with chairs! When the drinks served they served just with the bottle, no glass, no tissue until we asked for!
Wireless internet: Though says in the webiste there is wireless internet we never got it anywhere in the hotel. On arrival we were said it is available in the Restaurant/Bar but still it was just searching
Manager/Owner: On way back we ordered a taxi to the hotel. Then Taxi driver simply asked "Sir/Madam, how was the hotel" then we said not good for anything. Then Taxi driver confirmed all of what we said since all the guests he had picked up complained all of these. More surprisingly what he said was "The Manager/owner seduce single European women tourists when they come to the hotel". Also, the Taxi Driver said this Manager/Owner do not like Taxi drivers since they tell the truth to the guests when they brining them!
Never ever recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Do not trust about the Hotel infomation put on the website since they are not even close to what you get at the hotel! Make sure all the windows, doors, balcony doors can be locked if broken never accept the room. We have been robbed once so telling from the experience! That was the reason we didnt accept Kandy View Hotel room where the balcony door lock was broken.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayaseeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Good place for vacation with some nice view & co-operating crew...............The hotel has lovely views, and I watched monkeys playing in the trees from my (very narrow) balcony, The hotel itself is of an average standard and was clean. The open-air restaurant area is lovely, breakfast was good, and the breakfast...staff were very helpful.............& if u haven't got booking for enough days.......you will get a room in the horrible & scary Holiday ban glow with a painful & scary(at Night) path(short walking distance from the hotel)................

Room Tip: Good Dining & upper rooms are good......
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ahmed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews