We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay..”
Review of Kandy View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kandy View Hotel
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Okay..”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed at kandy view for two nights. On arrival, which was early evening, we were met by three young clueless boys who had misplaced our booking (we had paid in advance, around £18.50 per night including breakfast). After a very slow check in, we were given a complementary juice drink which was a nice touch. Our room unfortunately was awful. It was an outdoor room that was rather dirty. Sheets did not look clean, and bathroom especially very worn. The forest location was beautiful by day, but felt unsafe at night with no security, and the reception closing to darkness by 9pm at the latest. Wifi was very poor and really only available in the small reception. Pool was small, but looked okay (it was slightly dirty which put me off). On the positive side, breakfast was decent, and the lady who served us very pleasant. For the money, we have since stayed at much better places in Sri Lanka. I would return, but would be sure to have an inside room, although the hotel would not be my first choice. If you go, please visit the garden cafe, it is about a ten minute walk from hotel and is down by the lake - all the locals go here for dinner and it is the best authentic Sri Lankan food we have tried all over Sri Lanka. We both are for around £1.50 each including coke etc. It is a real gem.

Room Tip: Get an indoor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank camilla_chellew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    196
    96
    52
    60
See reviews for
82
224
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

What an excellent place to enjoy the vacation, it was surrounded by lovely environment, enjoyed the tasty breakfast with the morning breeze.It was quite as it's a little bit away from the busy city center.No one can ever compliant about the excellent service which is provided by the friendly staff.It was a memorable time which is unforgettable.Will come back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank siplypai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Never to mention the horrible hygiene condition, NO security system, cold shower water and continuously barking dogs all night long, the staff shall never be trusted! We stayed there for three day two nights. On the morning of 2nd day, one of their staff asked us if we want room cleaning, and we never thought too much before we handled the key to her. We then asked the reception to keep our passports and handphones, but I left one wallet in our backpack which is inside the cupboard in the room. There are two notes of US100 and 14 Singapore Airport Shop vouchers, each voucher is 10 SGD, Other Sri Lanka currencies were with us on that day.Keep in mind there is no safe box in the room. In the very evening, when we come back, we found one of the US 100 notes and 1 voucher were gone. We were so angry because that very day was MY BIRTHDAY!!! The whole day we were outside. And the whole floor only had our room being checked in and the other guests were also outside on the day. We reported the case to one man staff. He just said he never experienced such thing before,.Then when we got back to our room we searched tripadvisor and found a review writing similar case as us, their staff stole EU 100 from guests. The next morning when we showed that review to their staff again, they just started their own conversation in their language... finally they just said they cannot recall....How can I trust them!

FINE, anyway it was my birthday, and I knew I cannot get my money back.HOWEVER, when we left the hotel, we suddenly found that they STOLE ANOTHER 3 VOUCHERS even after we have told them those vouchers can only be used in Singapore!! After that, Sri Lanka left me a really bad impression. Most of the locals who start talking with u on the road must have some intentions with your money. NEVER EVER go to KANDY VIEW HOTEL!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chloe Huan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kndyvw, Manager at Kandy View Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear Sir, dear Madam,

I am sorry to hear of your bad experience loosing money and vouchers during your trip. It is the law in Si Lanka to inform guests to save guard valuables, either in the room save offered in the more expensive hotels or in the office save as the Kandy View hotel offers. A clear written notification is given in each room to do so. The same note informs guests that the management can otherwise not not be held responsible for any loss during your stay.

The Kandy View hotel has experienced one earlier report of a loss or possible theft of valuables, which was happily solved when the guest found the 'lost' valuable in his baggage after all. As manager of the Kandy View hotel I can assure you that all our personnel can be trusted as honest and service oriented people aiming at making our guests feel at home.

At the same time I regret that your impression of this country and its population in general is negative while many visitors to Sri Lanka have the most enjoyable time. We hope that you get a more positive impression on your next visit, if you plan to do so.

Sincerely yours,
Kandy View Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Quiet location, enjoyed the veiw from the balcony, friendly staff, they arranged day tours of the city, Dambulla. Thay also arranged a driver to take us to Galle via Nuwara eliya & Ella. would stay there again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We spent two weeks there in April 2013. It's near the Kandy Lake and Temple of the Tooth, very convenient to travel around. The open-air canteen was a fantastic place to relax and chat. Food was very good. We found the staff really friendly and the days there extremely memorable. Will go there in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheng S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I can only say I agree with all the negative comments .The owners are pleasant and bright why don't they accept the criticisms and fix this potentially very good hotel?
The position is good ,the restaurant area is great they have a good base to work from.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I visited this hotel in Jan 2013, My husband choose the location and it was indeed a treat for me~ It was clean room and the wach rooms had hot water and clean too~we only stayed one night, but we ordered dinner El-Carte and Standard Breakfast.. The staff was very friendly and supportive, Specially travelling with a small child is not an easy task..
Dinner was served with an action food station, where they cooked different diches using any vegi we choose!!
Simple Breakfast had western and traditional dishes, such as toast, eggs, noodles, rice and curry with fruits or tea to blend in...
Hot water was provided on request to make milk for my baby too...
There was a nice clean pool, which i deared to get in due to the cold water.. but it was quite inviting to have a dip!! wink...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tropical15041982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 54 in Kandy
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#32 of 54 in Kandy
177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 54 in Kandy
490 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow
0.6 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#20 of 54 in Kandy
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy View Hotel

Property: Kandy View Hotel
Address: Ampitiya Road | 40, 22 Hillpankandura, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kandy View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing