We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel away from the hustle and bustle of Kandy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kandy View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kandy View Hotel
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Liverpool,England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hotel away from the hustle and bustle of Kandy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

A lovely hotel a five minute tuk tuk ride from the centre of a very bustling and polluted Kandy.
A warm welcome from the owner and his staff who immediately offered us lots of information and tours that were ran from the hotel.
The hotel is up a steep incline and you need to take a tuk tuk unless you are extremely fit!
The room was spacious and clean.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
We arranged a Kandy city tour via the manger Chantarey. Our tuk tuk driver, Siraj was amazing and couldn't do enough for us. One of the highlights of our holiday was our day out with Siraj in his tuk tuk.
New Years Eve was different as staff through rockets off the balcony of the hotel. An unforgettable experience.
We would would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaHafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    196
    95
    50
    60
See reviews for
82
222
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We are a family of five (two adults and three teenagers) and we found this place a really relaxing place to stay. It has a lovely terrace with spectacular views around Kandy where we enjoyed really delicious food. The staff were very friendly and the owner was able to arrange wonderful drivers to tour around Kandy as well as north to Sigirya and Dambulla. This meant that we didn't have to move hotels to see these awesome sites and instead returned to a good night's sleep at a very comfortable spot.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Japtour2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

The manager is knowledgeable - you should definitely go and say hi to him. He is generally at the rooftop dining place. A tip or two offered by him is worth it.

I happened to reach this hotel by chance, while looking for Kandy City Hostel. It is a long climb up, but once you reach - the sweat will make you feel worth the effort. I took the best room available (number 1) - as it was within my budget. The service is good, and you get familiar with the limited staff they have, very soon - as you will keep meeting them running around!

I did not try the food there, and based on earlier feedback, was not happy jumping into the pool either. But what made the place worth the money was the morning view, and 10 minutes at the balcony watching the monkeys jump around on the trees and the view of Kandy city. Marvellous!

One key thing that I would like to mention is that somehow, i missed my gold chain, while checking out of the hotel, and realized it only 3 hours later. When I reached back asking for it, though I was not very hopeful of getting it back (coming from India), I still managed to find it under the bed. Cheers to the staff and their courtesies.

Definitely a thumbs up from my side, especially due to their gesture and commitment.

Room for improvement - Infrastructure could be improved a bit (AC was making a lot of noise, tap was leaking, TV not working), but if, like me, you are not sensitive to such minor issues, then go ahead and spend a day there.

Room Tip: Select the rooms on the top - much better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuruGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We had a really great stay here. It's not far from kandy lake and city center --as Kandy is a tiny city(like most of Ceylon's city except Colombo). Kandy view has many great stuffs, they're really helpful.As I can remember once we'd like to buy some clothes with Sri Lanka features, we ask the receptionist for help,she's really nice and told us a lot about where can we buy it and the reasonale price. What more,the boss of Kandy View hotel is the best Sri Lankan I‘ve ever met. He help us to plan our trip and help us to rent car to travel at weekend.Everytimes the car came extremely punctual(many Sri Lankan people have no sense of time) and car renting service has a reasonable price. Kandy View is really a Excellent Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiling_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel was definitely average. It's quite a walk away from Kandy up a steep hill - bring a torch if you are planning to walk back at night! The rooms were a little tired but clean & a good size. Breakfast was quite good - eggs cooked to order & some Sri Lankan buffet items. Ok but not great.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We had a nice stay here - this old style hotel is very typical if that in Kandy. Our driver recommended this place to us -We had a look around at others while we were there and we're very happy with our choice of Kandy View.
As the name suggests the view from both our room and the restaurant were fantastic it felt like you were high upon the hills but are not too far from Kandy town.
The food was good with a buffet for breakfast and very good curry options for dinner.
The staff were fantastic - we had to have a very early check out of 5am so they organised a tuk tuk driver for us to the train station and one staff member slept in the lobby to meet us before we left!
I would recommend this place to others, it would be hard to find better in Kandy in this price range.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kapai11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secunderabad, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at Kandy View after reading all the great reviews here for 4 nights and changed our room thrice. So the state of the rooms is evident from that. The rooms are nice and decently spacious.. but they aren't maintained well. The first room had a leak in the bathroom and moss smell in the room, the second room, had the beds creaking badly.. and when we checked to see what was wrong, we discovered the fixed bed plank was missing and by placing loose woodden planks the bed was converted to a makeshift one.
The third room was the most decent one.. and we stayed there for the last 2 nights. But again, the washbasin taps were leaking. The view of the town from there was good with floor to ceiling windows. That was the best thing.But the rooms on the top floor do not have a TV, which may not be an important thing while travelling - but while booking, since these amenities were mentioned, then it should be specific enough.
The place is a nice one.. but not maintained well.
The staff is extremely courteous and Mr. Kanchana, the owner is an interesting person to meet. It's due to the personal interest he takes for the comfort of the guests, that the guests have the good reviews of the place. Else, Just for the rooms, I would not highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B_3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.8 mi away
Heavens Holiday Resort
Heavens Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Mahawaththa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#31 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kandy Holiday Home
Kandy Holiday Home
#33 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Sunrich
Hotel Sunrich
#45 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy View Hotel

Property: Kandy View Hotel
Address: Ampitiya Road | 40, 22 Hillpankandura, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kandy View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing