We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best rice and curry in town!!!”
Review of Kandy View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kandy View Hotel
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the best rice and curry in town!!!”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Staff is very kind, great view from the restaurant, Sri lankan breakfast is very good. The best rice and curry in town !!! Second time we stayed in Kandy View and we will come back next year. Thank you .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clemens100208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    196
    96
    52
    60
See reviews for
82
224
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Just returned from Sri Lanka. stayed here for 2 nights while in Kandy.

Fantastic Hotel with stunning views and a pool. Kanchana and his staff are fantastic nothing is too much trouble. The rooms and food was really good.
See you in October when i am back

I would ask for a room on top floor with a view

Room Tip: Top Floor and ask for a View it is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_fielding121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The hotel is near to the Kandy Lake and Tooth Temple,but one has to climb a little.Specially,its difficult for the aged people.Room size is quite large,so is the wash room.The main attraction of this hotel to me is the Dining place.We got a fantastic view of the city from this place.A live kitchen was there, preparing food as per our choice.We enjoyed the small swiming pool in the hotel.Hotel staff were very helpful.Like to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babunkolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We chose Kandy View based on our budget and some decent reviews on Trip Advisor, booked for one night and ended up staying 4. The location is great, about a 25 min walk to Kandy centre (would get a tuk tuk from train station if you're carrying heavy bags though, and don't pay more than 400rps max!) via the beautiful lake and view of Temple of the Tooth. The hotel has a great restaurant with open balcony sides and a fab view of the city. The food was great and good value. Staff were very helpful and really pleasant! The room we had was basic but clean, had a bit of a damp smell but was fine after putting the fan on for a bit. It could have done with a bit of a refurbishment, especially in the bathroom, but we weren't hanging out in the room all day and for the price it was fine. I'm sure if we had asked to change rooms the staff would have done everything they could, but we were fine with it. Completely forgot to try the pool! Would definitely stay there again. With a bit of attention paid to the rooms this would be fantastic! Cheers guys. Jen and Nick, UK

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JennyLees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overijse, Belgium
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

If you want to avoid the noise of Kandy then this is the place to go as it's a little way out of town up a hill and away from it all. The bedroom views from the floor to ceiling windows are beautiful with the monkeys running up and down the trees.

The staff are friendly, the breakfast in the lovely open air dining room is really great and our first introduction to a Sri Lankan start to the day! There's also a swimming pool if you wish to take a dip but sadly we were never there at the right time. There's also a very pleasant walk behind the hotel up into the jungle which is definitely worth exploring but watch out for leeches...

Definitely a place to consider if you want to be a little further out of town but still within easy reach. We would walk into the centre and catch a tuk tuk back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeuxCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Pros:
- Fabulous location (can walk to and around Kandy Lake, Temple of the Tooth and all other central attractions anytime)
- Cheap
- Breakfast included (and a lovely breakfast spread too)
- Great view from the rooftop dining area
- Very courteous and helpful staff
- They even have a swimming pool!

Cons:
- Bathroom fittings not maintained well (we had 2 rooms - the flush did not work in one, and the geyser in the other)
- Slightly difficult to get your car up till the hotel

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor had faulty bathroom fittings
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbhiBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool,England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

A lovely hotel a five minute tuk tuk ride from the centre of a very bustling and polluted Kandy.
A warm welcome from the owner and his staff who immediately offered us lots of information and tours that were ran from the hotel.
The hotel is up a steep incline and you need to take a tuk tuk unless you are extremely fit!
The room was spacious and clean.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
We arranged a Kandy city tour via the manger Chantarey. Our tuk tuk driver, Siraj was amazing and couldn't do enough for us. One of the highlights of our holiday was our day out with Siraj in his tuk tuk.
New Years Eve was different as staff through rockets off the balcony of the hotel. An unforgettable experience.
We would would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaHafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
0.2 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 54 in Kandy
188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#17 of 54 in Kandy
485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#32 of 54 in Kandy
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
1.8 mi away
Heavens Holiday Resort
Heavens Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Mahawaththa
83 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Sunrich
Hotel Sunrich
#42 of 54 in Kandy
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy View Hotel

Property: Kandy View Hotel
Address: Ampitiya Road | 40, 22 Hillpankandura, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kandy View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing