We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places I've ever stayed! ”
Review of Kandy View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kandy View Hotel
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“One of the best places I've ever stayed! ”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I stumbled upon Kandy View Hotel online by accident when I was searching for another hotel. I just took a risk and paid online to book 2 nights in Kandy. Now I'm posting this review thinking to myself "I'm sooo glad I selected this place!" I mean the service is amazing, the atmosphere is amazing, the convenience of the location, the view, so peaceful n private! But most importantly, the rates are absolutely amazingly unbelievable! Wow what a deal! The owner of the hotel himself give personalised service to the guests... the hospitality is amazing!! I will definitely return! N wikk definitely recommend thia place to my friends!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Indika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    197
    97
    52
    61
See reviews for
83
227
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I have stayed here before when working in Sri Lanka and wanted to show my husband on our holiday Kandy Town. This hotel is ideal, a short walk to the Lake and into the Town. The staff are so helpful, especially the lovely Ameli, who's English is excellent. Overall a very pleasant value for money stay, with a good Sri Lankan breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyCYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel was great. The open air restaurant area is lovely views. Breakfast was good. The staff was great. Eveyone was very helpful and friendly. Room was clean.
This is a good hotel to stay and good value for money.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ama010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riemst
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We had a room with breakfast for a very good price and we booked this hotel because of the good comments on the internet.
The hotel and the rooms are very clean and the meals (also lunch&dinner) are delicious and not too expensive.
Staff is very friendly and it was a pleasure to experience so much hospitality from their side!
When we have the chance to go back to Kandy, we will definitely choose again for this hotel...
Thank you very much and keep up the good work :-)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kristien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We used kandy view as our first port of call when our plane landed. They picked is up from the airport for $65 and it took around 3 hours to get there (we landed at 1pm so was worth it for us).
When we arrived they asked us if we would like to up grade, and thank god we did!

It seems that below the terrace where food is served, are the cheap rooms (the ones that people seem to be complaining about) our room was the floor above the dining area. It was clean and spacious, towels looked grubby so used our own.
The "view" was of a couple of buildings and the windows spanned across a whole wall so we had to keep the curtains shut.

"K" the owner was very nice, spoke great English, and organised us a couple of day trips. One was a tuctuc around kandy, stopping at all the touristy spots, tea factory, spice garden, view points etc and the other was an a/c mini bus to sigiriya , and dambulla, stopping at temples etc. both were worth it, to make the most of our 2 days there (3 nights).
But then k managed to convince us (it wasn't that hard, we are new to the whole travelling thing) to cancel our next hotel in kirinda because it was 5hours away from yala where we were planning a safari. He said he'd organise us a trip to nuwara eliya (a place we wanted to visit), a day trip to Ella on our way to Yala where we'd have a safari. So in total he would organise 2 nights accom ( nuwara and yala), safari and taxi the whole way as well as dropping us off where ever we wanted to go, which was Mirissa. All for £360. It was below our expectations. We were the only guests in both hotels, the safari was good though, and our taxi driver was really nice too and pointed out some local places to eat. We do feel for what we got we were a bit conned of money and so have learnt to "stick to our plan"!!

Other than that it was a great stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Francesca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in Feb 2014. I have mixed views on this hotel as it could be great, but they just need to put a bit of love into the rooms.

But first the good bits:
View from the restaurant is amazing
The food is good
The staff are friendly
Breakfast was great
Location is excellent and away from the traffic


The bad bits
The room was dirty and had a plant growing in the bathroom, I did tell the manager and they fixed it but I wonder how long it was there before.
Room 3 (below the restaurant) is very noisy. There is a lot banging at 6am when they prepare breakfast.
TV didn't turn on (not that we used it)
Fan was broken and had an exposed wire
Bathroom toilet had a leek and although it was fixed it stank the room out.
The room was not cleaned in 4 nights, even though the manager said they would clean it.


So in a nutshell, sort out the rooms and you will have a brilliant hotel. It is still worth staying here but compared to the others we stayed at this was not up to scratch.

Room Tip: Rooms under the restaurant (1,2,3) are noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesashleysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

London
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel has so much potential, but the quality of the rooms is just unacceptable.

Firstly though, the good points:

- The restaurant is excellent. We ate there 4 nights, and each time the food was amazing, and (for a hotel) quite good value
- The breakfast is really good, and buffet style, so we filled up every morning!
- The restaurant really does have beautiful views
- The staff are nice and helpful and speak good English (although shop around for the organised trips and tuk tuks as you'll be able to get them much cheaper elsewhere)
- There is a decent enough (although very small) pool
- The hotel is away from the very busy, polluted road
- The Wifi worked for us in our room and the restaurant

But now, the bad points:

- The bathroom was really disgusting. When we arrived, there was an actual plant pushing it's way through the tiles behind the toilet. When we complained, the staff did remove it and cemented up the tiles, but we shouldn't have had to even point it out
- The toilet leaked making the bathroom smell. Again, this was fixed when we complained, but the bathroom still really smelt
- The shower was ok, but basic - there was no soap dish or anything
- The mattress was really saggy. I wouldn't normally mention such a minor point, but it was so saggy that it was actually disruptive to sleep
- The sheets on the bed were just pieces of cotton with frayed edges and stains on them. I also wasn't convinced they had been properly washed
- Our room was under the restaurant, and there was very loud and disruptive noise (banging etc) all evening, which stated up again at about 6am. we had to wear ear plugs each night
- And some minor points - the curtains were stained and dirty, the fan was broken and hanging out of the ceiling (although the air con worked so this didn't matter too much), the room wasn't cleaned for the 5 nights we stayed (even though the hotel manager had said that it would be when the toilet was fixed)

We were offered a change of room to the lower ground floor, but after reading the other reviews of those rooms we decided not to.

This hotel has so much potential, but I wouldn't stay here again due to the state of the rooms - the room we stayed in was undoubtedly one of the worst I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 1st floor are under the restaurant, so very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 55 in Kandy
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#33 of 55 in Kandy
178 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 55 in Kandy
495 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow
1.1 mi away
Kandy Holiday Home
Kandy Holiday Home
#35 of 55 in Kandy
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy View Hotel

Property: Kandy View Hotel
Address: Ampitiya Road | 40, 22 Hillpankandura, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kandy View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing