We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views”
Review of Kandy View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kandy View Hotel
Ranked #33 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel has an enviable location and you get good views from almost any window in the place. The best though is from their rooftop restaurant although the food is quite expensive for what it is. If you have any meal there though, the breakfast is certainly worth trying. Lots of choice and v substantial - one of the best we had in Sri Lanka.
This hotel also has a pool. The water is freezing but that can be a welcome relief in the heat. It was a bit too chilly for me though! Good stay overall.
(We were actually here in 2008 but I only just found the notes I took at the time!).

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jibbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel boasts a stunning view and it's true, it's absolutely gorgeous. The staff is professional, very nice, and accomodating, and the food is excellent (though pricey). The location is not great, as it's a dark walk up a steep hill, and about 30 minutes to downtown Kandy. However, there are tuk-tuks available 24/7 to take you anywhere you want to go. The hotel arranges any kind of special tour for you (at a higher price, but they do need to make a profit, and their tours are good), and even matched me and my fiance up with another couple as they knew we were on a budget to save us some money. The pool was much too cold to swim in, so I couldn't try it (I was there in the rainy season, so it wasn't warm enough). The rooms on the ground floor are definitely musty smelling, but decently clean. All in all, I would return, but I think it's a bit more pricey than should be.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pilar813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel was booked through our tour company, and we had read good reviews about the place and their rooms. Unfortunately we were given the worst room... The room on the ground floor. It is true, you can hear everything above and the room itself isn't great (compared to the others) the shower was shabby and cold, with a open drain where you could see below and there was a gap on the side of the wall where you could hear everything of the bathroom next door. Saying that, the staff were friendly and the view from the restaurant upstairs was really nice. The breakfast included was also nice with fresh fruit and omelettes and the dinner in the evening was surprisingly tasty also. A great hotel just shame about the room- when booking ask for the upper level rooms!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Madro27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

When we arrived at the hotel the owner convinced us to take the Deluxe room and said that we would see the difference with other rooms. The Deluxe room had a beautiful view indeed while the other rooms we got to see were facing a wall, this convinced us quickly. However, there was nothing 'Deluxe' in this room except the view. The bed sheets were so used that we could see through them and they were torn apart on each border. The mirror light in the bathroom was not working and electric cables were coming out loose. And last but not least the sink was not evacuating the water properly. Despite all this we enjoyed our stay thanks to the kindness of the staff and the good location of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikicats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel was fabulous for the price. It is at the end of a bit of a bumpy road, however a tuk tuk gets up it fine. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the hotel is kept very clean. The major selling point to this hotel is the view from the top in the restaurant, its amazing. The restaurant is a lovely place to sit and has a great atmosphere. Breakfast was amazing, and also sampled the hotel curry which was delicious and a great price. The staff here are amazing, so helpful and friendly. They organised a tuk tuk tour of Kandy for us which was so cheap and a must do. Everyone in this hotel was raving about how good it was for the price. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed in Kandy only one night during our Sri Lanka holiday. Kandyan View Rest was great choice. We had comfortable room with big bed. Cleanliness of room was on very high grade in regards price level of hotel. Wonderful view from bedroom. Breakfast in time what we needed. Eren (very kind guy from hotel) solved about our transport to dinner and get recommendation for program in Kandy - useful. Very good location, WiFi connection was working.

Room Tip: Bathroom is not incl. the room. But in our case we had available bathroom on floor with two rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

After reading some of the other recent reviews of this hotel I started to wonder whether we had stayed at the same place!
Looking at the hotel photographs on Trip Advisor made me wonder why they put us in such appalling rooms when they clearly have much nicer accommodation available.

We had two external rooms on the outside of the hotel overlooking wasteland which held two very interesting, old and demolished cars (great from a photographic point of view but not from a guest perspective).

The patio area outside the rooms had broken furniture and was being constantly dripped onto by leaky overflow pipes resulting in extensive mould growth.

The rooms were very, very basic and insecure – you could open the sliding windows from the outside and there was no way of locking them! My mother in law was in a single room and felt rather vulnerable.

The sheets were laced with holes and the cleanliness of the rooms left a lot to be desired.
We couldn't tell whether the bathroom furniture was filthy or just plain old?

The staircase just outside our rooms led down onto another level but did not have any safety rail and looked extremely dangerous (although, to be fair, we didn’t need to use these stairs).
The feel of our accommodation and immediate surrounding area felt damp, un-cared for and very rarely used or maintained.

We WERE on a budget accommodation trip but this fell very short of what we reasonably expected.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LouiseJB29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 57 in Kandy
198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 57 in Kandy
511 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kandy Holiday Home
Kandy Holiday Home
#40 of 57 in Kandy
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#34 of 57 in Kandy
180 reviews
0 mi away
Jack Tree House Kandy
Jack Tree House Kandy
#31 of 57 in Kandy
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy View Hotel

Address: Ampitiya Road | 40, 22 Hillpankandura, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £9 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Kandy View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing