We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scenic and welcoming. Staff Excellent!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kandy View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kandy View Hotel
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Edinburgh
2 reviews
“Scenic and welcoming. Staff Excellent!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Kandy View for 3 nights in the middle of August this year.

'K' the manager was incredible, very helpful in sorting out Tuk-Tuk/Taxi drivers for short trips or the whole day. He found the right balance of not being too pushy in selling day-trips and guided tours, a trait not shared by many hoteliers in SL. We caught a very early train (0330) on our last morning and the Tuk-Tuk driver didn't turn up, so K took us to the train station himself, what a gesture!!

The rooms were tidy, and the aircon worked perfectly. The evening food basic but cheap and tasty, but there was fresh fruit and well cooked eggs in the mornings (K even gave us a packed breakfast and some water for our early start.) The views of the valley and towards the town from the restaurant are stunning in the morning and the evening, not to be missed. We didn't use the pool but it looked clean.

I would recommend staying here if you are looking for a cheap(ish) stay in the mountains that lets you discover Kandy, the Elephant Orphanage and the Botanical Gardens.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alasdair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    196
    95
    48
    59
See reviews for
82
220
55
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Kandy View is a perfect hotel. The view is really nice, especially from the rooms on the top floor. The rooms are simple, but comfortable and clean. Diner and breakfast are super! Staff and owner are really nice and super helpfull when you want to plan trips, book tickets, plan journeys etc. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!

Room Tip: Book the topfloor for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derkjan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panadura, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
295 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

An average lodge with a restaurant.nothing fancy,small place .rooms are ok. Bathrooms clean. Beds comfortable. Food average not much of a choice. Don't get misled by the name . You don,t get a view of Kandy town from this hotel. Scenery out from your window or restaurant is nice though
.lots of greenery. Staff friendly and try their best to keep the guests happy.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Prasanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

i did not recommend that place. tv is not work also the swimming pool is very dirty .Soap dish fell off the wall as soon as you touched it......only good thing is staff is was friendly . i never go back that hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steffan1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel has an enviable location and you get good views from almost any window in the place. The best though is from their rooftop restaurant although the food is quite expensive for what it is. If you have any meal there though, the breakfast is certainly worth trying. Lots of choice and v substantial - one of the best we had in Sri Lanka.
This hotel also has a pool. The water is freezing but that can be a welcome relief in the heat. It was a bit too chilly for me though! Good stay overall.
(We were actually here in 2008 but I only just found the notes I took at the time!).

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jibbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel boasts a stunning view and it's true, it's absolutely gorgeous. The staff is professional, very nice, and accomodating, and the food is excellent (though pricey). The location is not great, as it's a dark walk up a steep hill, and about 30 minutes to downtown Kandy. However, there are tuk-tuks available 24/7 to take you anywhere you want to go. The hotel arranges any kind of special tour for you (at a higher price, but they do need to make a profit, and their tours are good), and even matched me and my fiance up with another couple as they knew we were on a budget to save us some money. The pool was much too cold to swim in, so I couldn't try it (I was there in the rainy season, so it wasn't warm enough). The rooms on the ground floor are definitely musty smelling, but decently clean. All in all, I would return, but I think it's a bit more pricey than should be.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilar813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was booked through our tour company, and we had read good reviews about the place and their rooms. Unfortunately we were given the worst room... The room on the ground floor. It is true, you can hear everything above and the room itself isn't great (compared to the others) the shower was shabby and cold, with a open drain where you could see below and there was a gap on the side of the wall where you could hear everything of the bathroom next door. Saying that, the staff were friendly and the view from the restaurant upstairs was really nice. The breakfast included was also nice with fresh fruit and omelettes and the dinner in the evening was surprisingly tasty also. A great hotel just shame about the room- when booking ask for the upper level rooms!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Madro27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.8 mi away
Heavens Holiday Resort
Heavens Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Mahawaththa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#34 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#20 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#36 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kandy Holiday Home
Kandy Holiday Home
#38 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy View Hotel

Property: Kandy View Hotel
Address: Ampitiya Road | 40, 22 Hillpankandura, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Kandy View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing