We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2012

A nice hotel on the banks of the Mayawati Ganga.Good room facilities. Very good choice of food at evening meal and breakfast. Reasonable prices in the bar for Lion beer!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOP_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,873 - 1,879 of 2,614 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

Just perfect in cleanliness, location, meals and customer service.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renuka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed in the resort for 2 nights. Our room overlooked the green lawns, lush jungle and calm river (we stayed in the new block in a deluxe room). The room was large with a small balcony that allowed us enjoy nature at its best. Our bathroom had a bathtub and eco friendly toiletries.

While the hotel does cater to tour groups, it is big enough to allow you your own space as well. The pool is excellent and overlooks the river. The banana shake is excellent at the coffee shop!

This resort had the widest variety of food that I have come across in a hotel. There is a lot of choice for vegetarians too. The array of deserts will tempt you into another helping. We loved the Sri Lankan food as well, especially the breakfast.

My husband had informed the hotel that we would be staying with them for our first anniversary – there was a candle lit surprise cake in our room when we got back from our excursions. It surely did add a special touch to our stay and we really appreciated the gesture.

A small issue - we asked for a large bed, but were given twin beds joined together to make a double bed. We brought this to the management's notice as well, who made some effort to sort it out for us. However, we agreed to continue in the room considering that it had a great view.

Check in and check out were no hassles at all.

However, the hotel is a little away from the main city and you would need a car/taxi at your disposal.

It’s a great place to relax. Service is excellent. Food is delightful. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing and preferably stay in the deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rapunzzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Great place to stay,
the delux rooms (river facing) are very large, clean, well maintained with good decor.
Food is not too great, tried only a al carte...not many options for dinner. However the guys went out of way to prepare particular dish not on the menu....
Overall great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YakubAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

There were three of us on our own tour of Sri Lanka. This hotel was selected for us. If we had known that it was 7 kms from Kandy, we would have chosen an in-town hotel since there was nothing to do in this location. The rooms were OK, but we were concerned about mosquitos. The food in the restaurant was sub par, and we ate little. We were happy to move on the next day. We would not recommend this hotel to other travelers.

The hotel was packed with tour groups from Europe. I suspect they got a good rate and were unconcerned by the quality of the food.

Room Tip: To get a good room, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony-Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

My review for the hotel isnt great as my friends and I experienced such unpleasant treatment by the front office management team and staff, it was indeed a trip spoiled and I can assure you that it wont be much a difference unless they seriously get some sort of training! Only good aspect about this hotel was the food! nothing else.....

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fazlan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Citadale

Came down to Kandy for colleagues wedding and decided to spend one night at Citadel. Admits of the high reviews received by our friends it is with immense disappointment that i write this review. 
First and foremost the welcome was quiet pleasant, yet there after it was rather poor service which caused us to regret the choice we made in selecting this hotel, even though it was for one night. 
As we had travelled all the way from Colombo the bride to be who is also a resident in kandy dropped by as a courtesy to say hello. But behold my surprise when the security guard and cashier that day comes upto me and says to me that no guest will allowed into the room due to security reasons. I was appalled by this as I am a cabin crew member and I have travelled to many a countries and stayed in many hotels chains yet not experienced such an hostile atmosphere.
The guard was very rude to me and embaressed me in front of my visitors. That's is not a way to treat a customer that has payed good money for a service that was obviously not received. The manager was also quiet arrogant and not wiling to listen and it was basically after much reasoning that he let my friend in the room to see us ( us equalling 3 females and 1 male ) and said that it was for security reasons that no one is allowed. Yet, during check in only 2 of us from the 4 that checked in was asked identity cards. Is that not a security risk as well?
When we went down to the pool area for lunch, there was disgusting ordour  and it was nearly impossible to have our meals. 
As cabin crew members, we look highly on service standards and passengers will always be priority. Rudeness and arrogance will not be tolerated. Especially when it comes from the highest of management. This is exactly what we experienced and I will give you a guarantee that  Citadel will never be recommended to any of our friends or colleuges. And was not worth the rs: 35,800/- the four of us paid for 1 single night ( half board )

Miss. T S Warkuss

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tamara11112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#2 of 57 in Kandy
584 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#12 of 57 in Kandy
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#11 of 57 in Kandy
1,117 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 57 in Kandy
1,395 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 57 in Kandy
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £99 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing