We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Luxurious hotel in romantic settings alongside the riverbank - excellent service, great food (especially breakfast) - we were looked after very well by the restaurant manager, Arshaad Buksh. Clean, spacious room. Will definitely stay here when next in Kandy.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the riverbank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rookie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,751 - 1,757 of 2,522 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

The best hotel we stayed in Sri Lanka. Very nice evening meal, and nice pool. Good views from the balcony. Cocktails were only slightly above average and the music in the bar was truly terrible - but both of those would be easy to avoid.

The hotel is out of town, which makes it very peaceful. A tuk tuk ride to Kandy is pretty hairy across the mountains, and should cost £3.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoannaBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Me and my wife went on 22nd april to celebrate my B Day and our Silver Wedding. Since we got a complimentary voucher it was tough to make the reservation, as the reservation staff were not so helpful. But finally spoke to a girl called Pramukshi who was very helpful and confirmed our reservation.
Anyway the hotel is excellent....Warm welcome by the reception staff, very helpful and friendly restaurant staff including the manager, even the gardener is so nice and got friendly with us, clean and comfortable rooms, lovely view, and food is superb, very tasty......ideal location for a well relaxed holiday.

Room Tip: We were in 255 and we both like the room, very quiet and comfortable, very close to the swimming poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hirantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed in a superior room which was huge, with lots of facilities including bathroom scales. The pictures on the doors were unusual. The room looked as if it had been refurbished & we overlooked the river. It was rather a long walk to the reception area via a walkway. The restaurant service was rather slow & we kept having to ask for things, but choice of food at the buffet was good. Location rather a long way from the centre.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monsoon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed only for one night as our base for time in Kandy. Was out exploring so didn't spend too much time in the hotel.

Room was clean, a little dated, but over all staff and hotel were pleasant and very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This was our first day of our honeymoon in srilanka and we were indeed greeted by the beautiful chaaya. We stayed two days in this hotel and wish we could have stayed more days here. Very good four star hotel elegant rooms, clean and decorated, absolute stunning location with greenery all around. We got what we wanted here. We liked the proch with the garden and was overlooking the river

Pros:
Room location and view.
Room Service.
Mouth watering cusines
Pool facilities

Cons:
Restaurant service was not good which disturbed our stay a bit

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karthik_K_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed here two nights during our Sri Lanka trip. Kandy has a number of old properties, and this is one. The rooms are pretty basic, the food is average and the location is a bit out of the way from Kandy. Kids were not allowed in the billiard room (even supervised)!! and this stayed empty during our whole stay - not sure if they are reserving the tables for a world tournament if its not for guests!
In hindsight, we would have preferred to have stayed in a more central location near centre of Kandy.
Oh well, you live an learn!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LazyRico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
813 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,328 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 56 in Kandy
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £67 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing