We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Villa Rosa(Kandy)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Secret Kandy(Kandy)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,747)
Filter reviews
2,747 results
Traveller rating
1,113
1,165
330
84
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,113
1,165
330
84
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivera la carte restaurantsri lankalovely hotelmain restaurantswimming poolsuperior roombuffet stylefruit batsour honeymoonhalf boardlovely pooldinner buffetpublic areasstayed longerhotel is situatedtwo nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,928 - 1,933 of 2,747 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed here for about three hours before we had had enough. We had an old damp room with balcony doors that did not lock, we asked to move to another room and were told they had no other rooms. We offered more money and were given the same answer. So we tried to thick it out, we went to the bar area and found it to be dirty and grotty, we walked around the hotel and again found it to be dirty and generally unpleasant and old and tired. When we said we we were leaving they offered us another room! really? This was the worst hotel we stayed in or nearly stayed in in Srilanka

Room Tip: Don't bother find another hotel
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank istanbultrip059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheharaAnthony, Shehara Meadows, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Chaaya Citadel Kandy and highlighting the areas for improvement. Currently, Chaaya Citadel Kandy is undergoing refurbishment and will be reopening in the end of 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This hotel was nice, again I would have no hesitation in recommending it, although it appeared to be busier than the Cinnamon Lodge (see my comments regarding the dining hall below).
The sleeping accommodation was nice, a large room overlooking the river. The bathroom wasn’t quite as nice, it was tiled in black tiles and wooden shower unit, which leaked slightly into the bathroom. The bed linen was nice crisp and white.
The communal areas were nice and overlooked the swimming pool. There were some nice areas outside, but unfortunately it rained during our stay up in Kandy so we couldn’t benefit from this.
The dining hall was busy and felt quite chaotic. The food dishes were not topped up as regularly and there were empty dishes which despite asking for them to be topped up, these took some time before they were. The kitchen staff didn’t appear to be able to cope with the level of food required for the volume of people which let the hotel down.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KymH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Luxurious hotel in romantic settings alongside the riverbank - excellent service, great food (especially breakfast) - we were looked after very well by the restaurant manager, Arshaad Buksh. Clean, spacious room. Will definitely stay here when next in Kandy.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the riverbank.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rookie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The best hotel we stayed in Sri Lanka. Very nice evening meal, and nice pool. Good views from the balcony. Cocktails were only slightly above average and the music in the bar was truly terrible - but both of those would be easy to avoid.

The hotel is out of town, which makes it very peaceful. A tuk tuk ride to Kandy is pretty hairy across the mountains, and should cost £3.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoannaBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Me and my wife went on 22nd april to celebrate my B Day and our Silver Wedding. Since we got a complimentary voucher it was tough to make the reservation, as the reservation staff were not so helpful. But finally spoke to a girl called Pramukshi who was very helpful and confirmed our reservation.
Anyway the hotel is excellent....Warm welcome by the reception staff, very helpful and friendly restaurant staff including the manager, even the gardener is so nice and got friendly with us, clean and comfortable rooms, lovely view, and food is superb, very tasty......ideal location for a well relaxed holiday.

Room Tip: We were in 255 and we both like the room, very quiet and comfortable, very close to the swimming pool.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hirantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews