We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place to relax after a busy day of touring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice place to relax after a busy day of touring”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

When doing a 2-days trip to Kandy-Nuwara Eliya with Ruchi Tailored Tours (from The Blue Water hotel in Wadduwa), we stayed over in the ‘Cinnamon Citadel Kandy’ hotel, and we really can recommend this hotel! This hotel had just been renovated, as it opened again beginning of October 2012. Not only has there been a change in name from ‘Chayaa’ into ‘Cinnamon’, but when checking earlier reviews and photos, this hotel has undergone a true metamorphosis. It now is very modern, with a bright, white marble interior, very spacious rooms and a nice buffet for dinner and breakfast. The staff was also extremely helpful and friendly. This really is a very nice place to relax after a busy day of visiting the area!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    1,015
    281
    71
    45
See reviews for
590
1,194
54
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I'm really surprised to find people recommending the place on tripadvisor. I stayed there in Jan 2012, when it was still called Chaaya Citadel. I hope it has undergone renovation on all levels, as my stay was highly forgettable. Uninterested & unhelpful staff greeted us upon arrival. The room was not even worth half the exorbitant price that was charged. The entire hotel was dusty and dirty. Only the lakeside location holds some charm. However the Cinnamon chain is wonderful, so I can only hope they have/will transform it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyrusdaruwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I was nicely surprised about this hotel. The rooms and bathrooms are really nice. There is a door going to a balcony that leads to the backside of the hotel with a great view. The check-in was fast, and the staff was really attentive. The decor of the lobby was also really nice, with entertainment in the evenings. The breakfast buffet was good as well, you can sit outside and enjoy the view and breeze. In general, it was a great stay, I wish I could have stayed longer. The only bad point is that there is not elevator and with a baby in a stroller it was a bit of a pain, but the staff are really to help.

Room Tip: choose a room on the top floors close to the lobby if you have stroller as there is not elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imolinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Bit outside of Kandy, with nowhere to walk, but hotel has all you need. Following it's recent refurb (and name change), this hotel is superb. The superior rooms are good, the staff very attentive and friendly. Qualtiy and choice of food at breakfast and dinner is excellent. Can't really fault this hotel.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth upgrading to
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barhud01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We had a very long drive through the Sri Lankan countryside from Beruwela to Kandy and when we arrived at Cinnamon Citadel, it was a sight for sore eyes. The hotel is simply beautiful and although we only spent one night there, we would've loved to have stayed longer. The room was excellent, one of the best we have stayed in. The food was outstanding too, with a great choice of delicious Sri Lankan dishes. The only quibble I had was that the waiters hovered over you while you ate. Whenever we stood up. they were at the table and when we went to sit down, they would rush over to grab your chair. Although it was quaint at first, it quickly grew slightly annoying, but otherwise, I couldn't fault the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dangermouse1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Makkah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Stayed in chayaa hotels all over sri... never let down. food bar service location rooms etc etc ... great value ...

if you want a good tour guide too drop me a line

we had a great time here it was more than perfect... and trust me i am hard to please. :o)

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flipper B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

the staff said it was 10% service charge, then you pay 12% government tax on your bill plus service charge then a further 2% n.b.t tax on your bill plus service charge plus goverment taxes. so actually you pay around 26% extra. that is quite hefty if there are a few of you. nice hotel but that leaves a bad taste in your mouth. they are not transparent about the taxes they charge.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morebeerplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
3.5 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 2 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#11 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing