We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Stayed for 2 days and the experience was excellent. Rooms is well done with all amenties, spacious, free wifi. Pool side restaurant was very relaxing. Breakfast had Good spread. The hotel overlooks the river snd mountain which has a very soothing feeling. Look forward to coming back to this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bharathjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    946
    1,005
    276
    71
    45
See reviews for
585
1,186
53
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
264 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

That's what we said when we came to this hotel after 3 other that were complete disaster. Huge room, amazing view, good choice of TV programs, fantastic pool, impeccably behaving staff ... If there is something to be changed for better - I'd suggest a few more western dishes.

Room Tip: River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nen608707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Sayed at this property for 1 night on my 8 day tour to Srilanka. The rooms were modern and very well done up overlooking the river and forest. The location was simply superb with the pool facing the forest, though a bit away from kandy city.

The swimming pool was very good.

Rooms were very spacious and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visidh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexCThomas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel for just one night when travelling down from Habarana and it was a brilliantly, modern hotel and in a great location for us to visit Kandy. Unfortunately due to the heavy rain we didn't get to enjoy the amazing pool and riverside views as much as we would have liked, but the hotel itself was spacious, modern and of an excellent standard. The room was very slick and modern and the food was also of a very high standard.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexCThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Had a very pleasant 2 nights here. Nice room overlooking the pool and river beyond from our balcony. There was everything in the room that one could need and it was well appointed. Food was excellent both at breakfast and dinner and there was lots of choice for a vegetarian.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allexie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
298 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel when it was Chaaya Citadel (I understand that it underwent some renovation recently). Its a nice hotel and overlooks a river and forest area. We stayed overnight during our stay(there is so much to explore in Srilanka, we spent every night at a different place :)

Rooms: Our room was small but cozy. It had a balcony which overlooked the river. The river itself was not very clean though. We were on our honeymoon and the staff had kept few balloons in our room which was nice.

Restaurant: Restaurant was nice. However, food itself was quite ordinary. We being vegetarians had a tough time everywhere in Srilanka. Its very difficult to find veg food there.

There was nothing extraordinary about the place and we might want to explore other hotels if we happen to visit Kandy again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itspriyanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

A really great hotel which will make your stay perfect! Nice breakfast area - great to eat together with squirels. Very nice lobby overlooking to forest and river. Live music piano day time and sax evening time. Staff recognize you and learn your name from the day one. Nice experience from A to Z!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poseyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
3.5 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 52 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing