We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel with a view”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed for two nights at this hotel and if you like nature, it's a beautiful hotel. Staff service is good and they had a good spread of breakfast. We had room 260 which was a bit of walk down. I would recommend this hotel for any family

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JR_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    1,015
    281
    71
    45
See reviews for
590
1,194
54
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

This is a really nice hotel in a lovely setting. The rooms are nice, the service is good and the breakfast is excellent. Its quite far out from Kandy but this is probably a good thing because you are in a quiet location so you can get a really good nights sleep. There is nothing outstanding about this hotel (except the breakfasts) but there is nothing to criticize either. A relatively good quality hotel in a great setting. We stayed for 2 days whilst visiting Kandy and it was perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Verbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This is probably more of a 3-star than a 4-star but still good value for the money. We had an issue with some ongoing construction and it took several calls and visits to the front desk to rectify, but we eventually did get our concerns addressed. They have a nice selection of food and staff was very hospitable. You can expect great views of the river and convenient to lots of shopping and site seeing in Kandy. Great for short stays.

Room Tip: Lower floors require going down/up several flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dabolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Cinnamon Citadel has a lot to offer for travelers after its recent renovation. It looks amazing after the refurbishment and has changed significantly compared to how it looks some time back. The lobby area and the bar have got a completely new look while the pool too have been redone to match the theme. The most amazing new addition is the restaurant terrace which over looks Mahaweli river. This type of an dining experience will going to be a truly memorable one for foreigners without any doubt. The rooms too have got a new look with a fair upgrade. The Front office staff (lead by FOM Fawmie) is giving a warm welcome with a friendly service for the Guests which is truly memorable. Similarly H/K, Restaurant and Kitchen Staff too is providing a great service to Guests. Food was great compared to my last visit. Its a Great Holiday place one should not miss in his / her visit to Kandy.

Room Tip: An unforgettable Holiday Stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crawley
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

In my work I travel around several hotels around the world, it was a pure pleasure to stay and eat here. The food is THE BEST in Sri Lanka. Although the location next to a busy road can be a little noisey if your room is in the wrong place the food makes up for it.

If you are touring this is worth a couple of nights stay.

You will not be disappointed

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

wow hotel in kandy. very far from the buddha temple. but really great location besides mahaveliya river. we stayed for one night in the new built wing. good rooms. all luxuries amenities. worth to stay.how i wishd we stayed for two nights. there is kiddo pool also. fun to stay. the food was excellent. big indowestern buffet. yummy. overall best hotel in whole tour of srilanka.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gorgeousdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacktown, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We have been here for just over 12 hours and we have lost power in our room at least 8 times. Each time we have phoned reception to inform them and they have quickly sent someone each time to rectify.

Service here is good along with food. We will be coming back here in a few days time and I hope we get a room with consistent electricity.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattandTaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
3.5 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 2 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#11 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing