We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We only stopped here for one night on our way from Habarana to Nuwara Eliya but were very impressed. We stayed at the sister resort Cinnamon Lodge in Habarana which was more luxurious but the standards of quality were very similar. We were given a free room upgrade and had more space than we knew what to do with, it was certainly the largest room we have ever stayed in. The only gripe with this was that it was a long and confusing walk from a remote location back to reception. In the evening there was entertainment in the form of a traditional Kandy dance and the buffet selection and dinner on the balcony overlooking the pool was excellent. In the morning we had time to check out the very picturesque river that runs through the grounds before heading off. The entrance hall that leads to a wide open bar and pool looks very swish and the service was impeccable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Rapture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,615 - 1,621 of 2,522 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

We were on a holiday trip to Srilanka and happen to stay at this hotel in Kandy. It is located in the centre of the city on the banks of man made lake "Kiri Mahuda". The space planning and ambiance of the hotel is excellent and we really enjoyed our stay in the hotel. The lounge bar and the cafeteria are spacious and offer a verity of food suitable to people traveling across the globe.

Room Tip: A room in the higher floors with good view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vijaymannur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Modernized structure with a nice pool and a beautiful view on the river surrounded by a wild forest.
Modern structure in white color.
From the restaurant it is possible to see the pool and the river tasting many spiced sri lankan specialities in a big buffet. Dessets and fruit are put in a special refrigerated room.
Rooms are modern and comfortable. The air conditioner in the rooms is a bit noisy in the night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paolo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

BeautifuL and ideally located. Good facilities . Staff are pleasant and friendly.
Rooms are tastefully decorated and has amazing views. Very family orientated. Food is of excellent variety and prices are reasonable overall.loved my stay here if only for a day. wish to visit this hotel again in near future for extended stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you for staying with Cinnamon Citadel Kandy and for your positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed your short stay here. It was indeed a great pleasure to have you with us. We hope that you will stay with us again for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I was there with my familly. When i went there hotel i still under construction. So not fully functioning all the areas. Foods are not much gud as i thought but it was teasty. Staff is very friendly then are really keen on customers satisfaction so realy care about our self. Pool is very clean and clear. Enviornment is very attractive. One side is boundd by mahaveli river.
I am very much keen to stay a night there again.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Mouly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you for your response on our Hotel. Cinnamon Citadel was under refurbishment last year and we reopened in October 2012 as a stunning four star deluxe resort. The rooms are well appointed, uplifted to the international standards and equipped with all modern facilities.
Your comments concerning the food, staff, pool and the environment are very highly appreciated. We do hope to have you with us again to indulge in true cinnamon hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hospitality by chief chef Raminda and the Restrurent manager Dharshan. The hotel stuffs are friendly, rooms are very clean, swimming pool is very clean and good size, maintained. In fact my son had lost his bag which one of the hotel stuff returned on the next day. The hotel place is good. One room has nice looking toward river and swimming pool

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arijitmazumser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you for your kind review of Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. The pleasure was ours to extend our unique cinnamon hospitality that made you and your family feel at home with us.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and comments regarding our Chef, restaurant manager, facilities, service and food quality. We are grateful for your compliments on our location, view and food which were among the highlights of your stay.

Once again, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we eagerly look forward to welcoming you back, should you plan another holiday in Sri Lanka in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Hotel is located away from the city center, on a smaller road, right next to the river with a grand view. Lovely pool as well. It's all very quiet and relaxing. Great staff all around. Room is spacious with good beds and a nice balcony.

Both the breakfast and dinner are buffets and were included as we booked half board. The selection and quality of the breakfast was really good, with a special colder area for some of the foods (fruits, yoghurts, cheese, desserts etc.). Dinner buffet was generally good but with hits and misses. The local curries and food were generally good and the non-local Western-type food was sometimes mediocre.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
813 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,328 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 56 in Kandy
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £58 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing