We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on 26 Oct, then again on 28 & 29th Oct. The deluxe room even comes with a baby cot (We had a 2 year old child travelling with us).We enjoyed the comfort, cleanliness, polite staffs of the hotel. The breakfast is awesome and so is the buffet dinner. We couldn't ask for more. Will definitely come back here again because we didn't have time to explore the lovely garden and the lake.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FZavier6052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    989
    1,049
    283
    76
    48
See reviews for
629
1,219
57
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

It has a lovely view of the river near it .! The food was ok !. The place is deep down in the woods .! Would need a car to travel to the city center n back !,

They have a lovely deck where the breakfast is . It overlooks the river too .!

A place u must stay in Kandy .!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabrizio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed just one night at this beautiful hotel.
It is very well designed and maintained. The hotel is built on multiple levels, and slopes downwards towards the river.
Our room had a nice balcony, overlooking the river, and we had a terrific view. Having a cup of hot tea in the morning in the balcony early morning was a lovely experience.
Breakfast spread was sumptuous, and the service courteous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. The hotel is a little far from Kandy city, so unless you are planni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vishalbhaskaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

After the craziness of Colombo, we were looking forward to a calmer and quieter time in Kandy. Arriving at the train station, we had our doubts. But once we got to the hotel we were in a world apart. Our (deluxe) room was very pleasant and had a wonderful patio overlooking the river and a wall of trees. Great bird watching in the early morning. The common areas are beautiful as well, including the pool and bar area. The food is quite good, including an impressive breakfast buffet that includes both western and Sri Lankan options. The staff are very pleasant and helpful.
A short taxi ride and you can do all of the standard tours in Kandy, but it is so nice to stay away from the traffic and crowds.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalAdventureGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Over all we enjoyed this hotel. We were really impressed by the size of the room. It was very spacious and we had a lovely balcony over looking the Kandy river which was a nice place to enjoy relaxing drink in the evening. The Foyer is very impressive with open views onto the pool area and Kandy River beyond. We enjoyed a relaxing lunch on the river terrace. We did not opt to use the pool as although it looked enticing it was completely overlooked from the whole resort/ check in reception desk/ front lobby/ restaurants and bars and personally we would have felt too self conscious/ exposed swimming here. The buffet dinner was really extensive with something for everyone as was the breakfast. Our only complaint was that our sleep was disturbed by staff members having a very loud conversation from 5-8pm outside our room. The bathroom window had vents and sounds travelled very easily into our room. It was also quite a long walk from the Lobby to our room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for selecting Cinnamon Citadel Kandy as your holiday destination and for sharing your valuable experience about the hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our food and that you had a wonderful experience with us. It is a great pleasure for us to know that our guests have left our home happy and satisfied.

We look forward to having you with us again for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Location: too far from Kandy - But set on Kandy River, overlooking the jungle the lay out of bars, dining, pools and rooms is great.
Easy to get drivers / Tuk Tuk to town or to nearby attractions.
Food: always good. Fresh, variety of cuisines, suit any dietary requirements at all meals.
Rooms: large, comfortable, airconditioned comfort in SriLanka's heat.
Value: great value for travellers who are able to spend a little more than average (watch bookings.com and expedia.com for special rates)
Service: staff always fantastic. Attentive with the ever present Sri Lankan smile and humour. Easy to engage on many topics.
Loved our stay here.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for selecting Cinnamon Citadel Kandy as your holiday destination. We are delighted by your positive comments and it was our pleasure to have had the opportunity to take care of you.

We look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

The place is fabulous. It simply wowed me. We however did not have enough time to enjoy the pool. But the beauty of it is super awesome. The dinner buffet was the best ... The variety was simply fascinating. We ate and ate until we could no longer breath. The staff was the friendliest. They would all come and ask how we were ? And if anything was okay !!! If we were missing anything. So very hospitable. I visited this place with a friend who came down from India. She was fully satisfied. I will for sure make it here again !!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anuki_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kandy
775 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 55 in Kandy
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#11 of 55 in Kandy
374 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing