We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location and excellent quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Toulouse
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning location and excellent quality”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Only a one night stay, but a very relaxing experience. Excellent and well appointed room, good view and fast wifi. lovely bar and swimming pool. Excellent breakfast on a very picturesque balcony. Staff were very friendly. Indeed a way outside kandy, but the calm on arrival was a positive for us. Wouldn't hesitate to return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we are really looking forward to having you with us again for yet another memorable holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    974
    1,039
    282
    72
    48
See reviews for
613
1,210
56
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a tour of Sri Lanka and enjoyed our stay very much. We had first been checked into a room with a leaky roof - only discovered after I had unpacked and there was a bit of a downpour - and were offered a change as a result. Unfortunately, the next room we were offered had twin beds, and the third, which we accepted, although an 'upgrade' was less appealing but the hotel was nearly full and who knew if there was a fourth option. The change was handled efficiently by the staff on reception, but not very quickly until I had packed our bags and camped out in reception waiting for a new room.
After that, it was all plain sailing. Food - as we found everywhere in Sri Lanka - was wonderful, the restaurant had great views over the river and the bar, open to the pool, was a great place to while away a couple of hours. The bar staff will bring food from any of the hotel restaurants to your table, so there was no reason to leave.
Kandy is a vibrant city and I would have liked to be more centrally located, to feel we were actually in the middle of things, but you can't have everything and I believe we were in the best hotel in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor, the views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

To stay and relish on the food at Cinnamon citadel at Kandy was a very unique experience! The moment you enter; the tranquil White colour-combination at the reception and a novel architecture of this hotel grabs you totally! Excellent hospitality: staff is eager to help you in every possible way! Would like to make special mention of Mr. Manju Rajpakshe and Arshad who pampered us thoroughly! I guess its supposed to be a 4 star hotel but No less than a 5 star experience. Go for it!!!

Room Tip: The rooms at lowest level facing the river Mahaveli are the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hqGarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We were initially allocated a room in the basement, on a level with the garden, but no view and it smelt musty and was dark. Then we were given a room on the top floor with a balcony. What a difference! It was light and airy, had good views over the river but quiet, wonderful.
The food was delicious, especially the Cafe C, steak just melted in the mouth and service was excellent.
Unfortunately the service in the buffet on the Saturday night was non- existent, they were obviously understaffed and stressed by a panicky maître,d.
This is obviously a tourist hotel and the decor in the bedrooms was unimaginative.

Room Tip: Higher floors are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to inform that the hotel will take all the necessary steps to overcome the issues in the basement rooms. We are certainly excited at the prospect of delivering a brand new experience to our guests and look forward to welcoming you back to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

It's a great hotel. Very classy. It's amidst the longest river in Sri Lanka (I can't pronounce the name). There are great views from the room balcony and the breakfast cafe. The hotel is surrounded by water and greenery and mountains. The view is quite breathtaking. The rooms are great and the bathroom is big and lovely. The staff are great and so is the service. Worth every penny you are paying for.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sosale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We gladly look forward to have you back with us for another amazing holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I spent two days at the Citadel in Kandy and it was a great experience. The staff were excellent and no request was too much. The food was of a high standard and the buffet had excellent choices. One thing I did notice at Citadel that Service always comes with a smile!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we are really looking forward to having you with us again for yet another memorable holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights whilst touring Sri Lanka and this hotel doesn't disappoint its stunning!!
Staff are fab, rooms are spacious and clean and terrace is gorgeous!
We ate here for breakfast lunch and dinner and all were fantastic .. The show chefs are a must we had they most wonderful banana fritters one night they were to die for!!
The hotel is situated on a river and you need to be on the terrace the hour before dusk to see the bats going up the river .. It's an impressive site it really is!!
Whilst in kandy the botanical gardens are definitely worth a visit!!
Would highly recommend this hotel could not find any faults at all its great!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NicNic2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
755 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#2 of 54 in Kandy
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kandy
998 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
688 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#12 of 54 in Kandy
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing