We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in kandy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in kandy”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We visited citadel for the 1st time after the refurbishment it looks grate The location is spot on with the River view The pool is lovely with only 4ft right round so that children are safe two days is not enough wish we can stay more

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldengrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We gladly look forward to have you back with us for another amazing holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    989
    1,049
    283
    76
    48
See reviews for
629
1,219
57
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

When you walk in to the hotel one never expects that there is such spectacular view. There is a lovely pool and along side there is a covered place from there the view of the river and the scenery was breathtaking. The rooms are spacious and have lovely view from the balcony. The breakfast/ dinner area ambiance was cosy in evening and inviting in the morning. I wished we should have stayed longer. May be next timeaq

Room Tip: All rooms have lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medha235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are elated to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for your feedback, we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon, England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Beautiful room with a great balcony to a lovely view. The grounds and pool area were delightful and the terrace where breakfast and dinner was served was a treat. Everything about the resort was relaxing and we wished we were staying longer not just passing through.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller-in-joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We gladly look forward to have you back with us for another amazing holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here for one night after a long day on the road. This hotel is very well located and has a trendy look. The view of the pool and the river behind it is just breathtaking! We would like to come back and stay for more time and take the river tour.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We gladly look forward to have you back with us for another amazing holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights on our tour with friends and were upgraded to deluxe rooms which were huge and had a great view of the gardens and river.

Wonderful clean rooms which had everything you would want for a stay. Bar and restaurant area immaculate and open to the pool area with great views. Friendly and helpful staff as always in the Cinnamon hotels, always on hand to help. Tried the A la Carte restaurant and we had a mixed experience, some of us had great food and others not so impressed, so stuck with the buffet which was excellent. We ate on the balcony outside which was a little dark though, could have done with more light to eat! Great stay would go back here, lovely hotel.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms as well worth it, enormous with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powderbirdffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Only a one night stay, but a very relaxing experience. Excellent and well appointed room, good view and fast wifi. lovely bar and swimming pool. Excellent breakfast on a very picturesque balcony. Staff were very friendly. Indeed a way outside kandy, but the calm on arrival was a positive for us. Wouldn't hesitate to return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonHotels, Public Relations at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we are really looking forward to having you with us again for yet another memorable holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a tour of Sri Lanka and enjoyed our stay very much. We had first been checked into a room with a leaky roof - only discovered after I had unpacked and there was a bit of a downpour - and were offered a change as a result. Unfortunately, the next room we were offered had twin beds, and the third, which we accepted, although an 'upgrade' was less appealing but the hotel was nearly full and who knew if there was a fourth option. The change was handled efficiently by the staff on reception, but not very quickly until I had packed our bags and camped out in reception waiting for a new room.
After that, it was all plain sailing. Food - as we found everywhere in Sri Lanka - was wonderful, the restaurant had great views over the river and the bar, open to the pool, was a great place to while away a couple of hours. The bar staff will bring food from any of the hotel restaurants to your table, so there was no reason to leave.
Kandy is a vibrant city and I would have liked to be more centrally located, to feel we were actually in the middle of things, but you can't have everything and I believe we were in the best hotel in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor, the views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kandy
775 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 55 in Kandy
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#13 of 55 in Kandy
374 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing