We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights in March when in Kandy. The hotel was excellent, attentive and friendly staff and the pool area was great. Very good modern room with perfect air con, we did expect this given the fact it is certainly more expensive than the more budget options in the area but we really felt it was worth it. The food was very good too (which is important in Kandy as there aren't a lot of good restaurants to choose from in town, either serving local or foreign food). Overall a great experience and we would definitely go back there if we are in Kandy again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triandswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    962
    1,025
    281
    71
    46
See reviews for
600
1,201
55
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Rooms, Position, Food Quality all very good, but for us let down by the second class service we found in the Buffet Restaurant. Examples were having to ask all the time for Coffee refills, often no Salt or Pepper on the tables, having to ask for dirty plates to be removed. Not what you expect from a Hotel of this class.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theelectriceric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a night as a family. Our room was spacious and had a great view of the river. The hotel was kid-friendly and the staffs were friendly and polite. The front desk was fast during check in and check out. We had a lot options in breakfast. Good choice for a short stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravellerIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I'll start this review by saying I've never been on a cruise, but when I picture what that experience would be like, Cinnamon Citadel Kandy is as close to an on-land experience as I imagine a cruise to be.

My husband and I traveled to this hotel for just one night with our twin 2 year olds to this hotel, and our first impressions were very positive. The ground are really beautiful. When you walk in, you're greeted by beautiful an incredible river landscape with outdoor seating, a bar, and a lovely pool that made us wish we'd had time for a dip.

Our room was nice, clean, and spacious, but not anything distinctive. We had a good-sized balcony overlooking the river and a flame tree. A couple of things about our room: it was a LONG walk to get to it! Up and down stairs and through long corridors. Overall, it was a small price to pay for the reward of a beautiful view, but we were grateful not to be pushing a stroller. Secondly, we asked for two baby cots, and the hotel could only provide one (which was fine, since we packed one cot), and the one cot we did receive was pretty dilapidated... as in, one whole side of the cot looked like it was ready to fall off its hinges. Thankfully, we didn't have any issues, but if you're traveling with little ones, something to consider.

We ate at the hotel buffet for dinner and breakfast. It was a huge buffet, and the food was very good, but not great. It felt a little like a cruise ship with the sheer number of tourists. At the buffet, it became clear that this is a hotel that caters to bus-loads.

Overall, we might stay here again, but if not, we would be searching for something with the same great view, but maybe a bit smaller.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous12211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Beautiful hotel and a fab pool.The food here was excellent.The staff so helpful and always ready to practise their English.Nothing too much trouble always smiling and happy and ready to help.
Our room was very good modern and great AC niceand quiet so a good nights sleep and definately need the AC on all night.Everywhere spotless bedding changed every day and towels if required and plenty of toiletries.

Room Tip: Sure any room here would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patc9Solihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments regarding the food, Service are very well appreciated. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days and found it to be excellent in every way.
The staff were friendly and efficient, the rooms and facilities were very well kept and the choice of all types of food was outstanding. From the rooms there were views of the river where it was not unusual to see herons. The swimming pool was most enjoyable but care needed to be taken on the slippery surround.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 47SID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. Thank you once again for your encouraging comments & we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was my favourite hotel during our tour of Sri Lanka. It is tucked away just outside the centre of Kandy and benefits from excellent views of the river Mahaweh Ganga. It appears to have been refurbished recently to a very high standard. Our room was tastefully furnished and spacious, with a large balcony overlooking the river. We enjoyed pre-dinner drinks in the modern bar area which overlooks the pool and river and then a very enjoyable meal in the restaurant upstairs. Our selection for dinner was easily made from the tempting array of dishes available at the buffet. We were impressed by the cold room facility which kept some of the starters and desserts cool.On one occasion we had a room service lunch on our balcony which was delicious and good value.

Room Tip: A river view is a must. Look out for the fruit bats flying up the river at around 6pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perfumelady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy.
We were delighted to note that you thoroughly enjoyed your short stay with us and your gracious comments will serve as an added inspiration to the entire team to consistently maintain the high standard of service excellence which you have experienced with us.
We have shared your praise with the entire team, as this will encourage them to continue the exceptional service to our guests.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable experience
We eagerly look forward to your next holiday with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 54 in Kandy
997 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
736 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 54 in Kandy
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kandy
969 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#11 of 54 in Kandy
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing