We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We spent four nights at this hotel with our 20-month old toddler and had a great experience. The hotel staff is incredibly friendly and kind to children, the room was very clean and comfortable, and the food was mostly delicious. The Cafe by the pool has amazing dinner (albeit quite pricey), and the breakfast buffet is one of the best I have ever had at a hotel, especially when it is included with your booking. The room service food, on the other hand, is unremarkable. Since we were traveling with a small child, our only issue were the opening hours for the restaurants, especially for dinner, since they open quite late when you need to put a baby to bed early. The room was super nice and spaceous and very clean, but we had an occasional power outage for a minute or two, then it came back... this seemed common in other locations of the island, however, so I do not think the hotel is to blame for it. Overall, we loved the location since we were close enough to the city to take quick trips and explore, but we were removed enough to feel relaxed and breath clean air without the chaos and noise of the city. The pool is beautiful as well although the shade is quite limited.
We highly recommend this spot for anyone wanting to explore Kandy and its surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VicoBau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We were delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay at citadel. Thank you for admiring the resort, the rooms and the beautifully landscaped gardens. You might please to know that the swimming pool is the best pool found in the entire Kandy.

We also would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your compliments made on the variety and selection of food. Your sentiments you have expressed in regards to our associates are truly appreciated and I have taken the liberty to pass them to the entire team.

Thank you once again for your stay at Cinnamon Citadel, we are grateful to you for this review and we hope that we will be able to welcome you all back to enjoy yet another stay at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    1,004
    276
    71
    45
See reviews for
583
1,183
53
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kozhikode, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

During our Sri Lankan holiday trip, got to spend a night in this very nice hotel. We reached late in the evening and left the next morning after breakfast.
It has a very spacious lobby opening onto a very nice swimming pool, slightly at a lower level . The rooms are very spacious, air-conditioned with a balcony overlooking the adjacent river. Breakfast is served on the terrace from where one can have a good view of the river. The buffet is really good and the service is excellent. Staff appeared very courteous.
Felt really sad that we did not get more time at this lovely hotel, as we had a long drive to Galle the next morning

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank premc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soton uk
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed for two nights on a half board basis,and very much enjoyed the hotel
The rooms are modern and large,the pool area is good and so is the service.
We had some pool snacks and a few drinks at the bar which were reasonable.
There was a wide range of food avaliable and would suggest the half board basis as theres not much around the hotel.
Would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sotbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations. The rooms were beautiful, well kept and air conditioned. It has a fantastic pool area which was exactly what we needed after travelling and visiting various locations over the 2 days we stayed. The food was very good but we were slightly disappointed that both nights we were there the A la Carte restaurant had a private function so we couldn't eat there. They did offer us that menu to have in the bar area though and the meals were great. The panoramic restaurant has fantastic views but is a buffet so we preferred breakfast there rather than dinner. Would definitely recommend the hotel though! Great experience.

Room Tip: All rooms area good but we would have preferred one nearer the pool area as we were a bit further aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel, Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your compliments concerning the location & food are very highly appreciated. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We visited this hotel as part of our tour of srilanka. The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings. I gather that all rooms have a good view. Ours was over the river. I cannot fault this hotel or it's sister hotel in yala. The rooms are lovely and clean and of excellent standard. The food is all good quality and made for a wonderfull few days. Well worth a return visit. Staff are well mannered and friendly. We will reurn.

Room Tip: All rooms seem excellent ...enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anntte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your nice little comments & we eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel is stunning with very polite, attentive staff, beautiful scenery around, wonderful selection of food, rooms very clean and nice and quite large. There was food and entertainment in the evening. A very relaxing and lovely place to spend time at!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mommytwogirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We only had one night in the Cinnamon Citadel Kandy but enjoyed our short time there. It was ideal to visit Kandy but also have a relaxing hotel to return to. Our room was large and very comfortable and the hotel is set in a lovely location right next to the river. The pool looked large and very inviting but unfortunately we did not have time to use it. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel; both were buffet style and the quality was very high. There was such a selection for both and almost too much of a selection to choose from!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsion_cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
3.5 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 53 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing