We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely & nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Nice surrounding.Friendly & honest staff.Tasty food and gave a special attention for Sri Lankans.WiFi available free of charge, but it was too slow.We had boat ride, it was amazing. Anyhow we enjoyed a lot. Thank you Citadel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruwan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,371 - 1,377 of 2,622 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel with friends. Breakfast was really nice and the staff were really friendly. It is well located for Kandy. Only points to improve is the rooms and in particular the bathrooms could be updated a bit. Also it was quite noisy on a night as our room was near to the lounge and restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. We will make necessary arrangements to rectify the issues mentioned. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Friendly staffs. Great food. Clean and spacious rooms will all facilities. WiFi available free of charge. Though we changed the number of occupancy per room ,hotel didn't make a fuss about it. We misplaced one hand bag, later we found it at the reception. Very honest staffs

Room Tip: Great place to relax near Mahaweli River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayarajah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Greetings from Cinnamon Citadel Kandy and thank you for taking the time to write about your experience of your stay at the resort on Trip Advisor.

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the resort. Thank you for your comments on our staff.

Thank you once again for choosing Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, and wished it could have been longer. We had a room on the top floor with views of the river from the small balcony. Buffet style breakfast with lots of options. It gets quite busy in the restaurant in the evening and a bit stuffy inside so try to get a table on the terrace. Overall the food was good and the staff very helpful. The pool is lovely and open until late. It is a little way out of town but well worth it just for the views over the river.
Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galaxygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the resort. Thank you for the compliments made of the food quality and the service. It was pleasing to note that you enjoyed as the scenic view of the resort. I have taken the liberty to pass on these compliments to the entire team which was very pleased to hear of your feedback.

We noted your desire to return and we look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy yet another stay at cinnamon citadel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Sometimes you just find yourself at a hotel and wonder why can't the rest just follow similar format. This hotel is just beautiful, staff are great, rooms are excellent, view overlooking the river in front of the pool are magic. The pool was clean and very well maintained. Would visit this hotel again any time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlethomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Greetings from Cinnamon Citadel Kandy and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the resort on Trip Advisor.

We were very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your short stay with us. Thank you for admiring the spacious elegantly designed rooms and the pool.
Thank you as well for the compliments made on the staff.
Thank you once again for choosing Citadel and we are so pleased to read that you are planning on returning back to the resort.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We spent four nights at this hotel with our 20-month old toddler and had a great experience. The hotel staff is incredibly friendly and kind to children, the room was very clean and comfortable, and the food was mostly delicious. The Cafe by the pool has amazing dinner (albeit quite pricey), and the breakfast buffet is one of the best I have ever had at a hotel, especially when it is included with your booking. The room service food, on the other hand, is unremarkable. Since we were traveling with a small child, our only issue were the opening hours for the restaurants, especially for dinner, since they open quite late when you need to put a baby to bed early. The room was super nice and spaceous and very clean, but we had an occasional power outage for a minute or two, then it came back... this seemed common in other locations of the island, however, so I do not think the hotel is to blame for it. Overall, we loved the location since we were close enough to the city to take quick trips and explore, but we were removed enough to feel relaxed and breath clean air without the chaos and noise of the city. The pool is beautiful as well although the shade is quite limited.
We highly recommend this spot for anyone wanting to explore Kandy and its surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VicoBau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We were delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay at citadel. Thank you for admiring the resort, the rooms and the beautifully landscaped gardens. You might please to know that the swimming pool is the best pool found in the entire Kandy.

We also would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your compliments made on the variety and selection of food. Your sentiments you have expressed in regards to our associates are truly appreciated and I have taken the liberty to pass them to the entire team.

Thank you once again for your stay at Cinnamon Citadel, we are grateful to you for this review and we hope that we will be able to welcome you all back to enjoy yet another stay at the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

During our Sri Lankan holiday trip, got to spend a night in this very nice hotel. We reached late in the evening and left the next morning after breakfast.
It has a very spacious lobby opening onto a very nice swimming pool, slightly at a lower level . The rooms are very spacious, air-conditioned with a balcony overlooking the adjacent river. Breakfast is served on the terrace from where one can have a good view of the river. The buffet is really good and the service is excellent. Staff appeared very courteous.
Felt really sad that we did not get more time at this lovely hotel, as we had a long drive to Galle the next morning

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank premc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#2 of 57 in Kandy
586 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#12 of 57 in Kandy
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#11 of 57 in Kandy
1,121 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 57 in Kandy
1,400 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 57 in Kandy
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £102 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing