We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base for visiting Kandy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good base for visiting Kandy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

A very clean and stylist hotel with excellent breakfast and buffet evening meal to suit all tastes.
Take a boat trip from the hotel on the Mahaweli River to see birds, bats and lizards, you also get a feel for the local area. The rooms are very good and clean and take British and European plugs. An easy ride in a Tuk Tuk into Kandy to see the sites.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillips52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. Sri Lanka.
We were extremely delighted to know that you enjoyed your overall experience with us and were extremely pleased with the attentive and dedicated service extended to you by our staff. It was great to learn that you were pleased with the surrounding location / Mahaweli River & boat ride.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable cinnamon experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    1,004
    276
    71
    45
See reviews for
582
1,183
53
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Situated on the banks of the Mahaweli River, approximately 3kms from Kandy centre, it was an idyllic setting. Our room was large, comfortable and clean. The buffet style breakfasts and dinners offered a wide variety of delicious dishes, Western, Sri Lankan and Asian in general. The waiting staff were most attentive. The hotel was quite full as it is obviously on the ‘guided tour’ itinerary, but with it’s large open reception and bar, leading down to terraces and a beautiful pool, it didn't feel crowded. We had only two criticisms. (1) Our room was situated immediately under the kitchen (the restaurant facilities being on the 1st floor) and, unfortunately, when the restaurant closed (10.00'ish) we were subjected to noisey dishwashers, and the clattering of china. (2) It was a little too far to walk into Kandy – especially in 37-38 degrees, although tuk-tuks were always available. A good base for touring Kandy, visiting tea plantations and other towns in the Highland regions.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the floor situated beneath the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We were most delighted to note that you were overall pleased with the service and product available at the hotel and fascinated with the view of the pool & the river. Your gracious comments have been shared with the entire team and our associates were equally happy to note that you had a lovely vacation with us.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is pretty nice all in all, and a solid 8/10 in my opinion. As mentioned elsewhere, the bar and pool side are really nice, and the staff were friendly. The rooms are clean and well maintained, and the food is decent. Personally i think the decor is a bit dated, but this is only my opinion and my girlfriend disagreed with me on this. The hotel has all the amenities you need however, and is fair value for money. I would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unique160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. While thanking you again for your compliments, we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The location by the river in Kandy makes this a very pleasant hotel, but that does mean mozzies are about!
The staff were fantastic , so helpful and pleasant.
We liked the decor of the whole place including the room. It felt both modern and traditional.
Food was very good and the cool area of the buffet was a very good idea. We tried the local 'hoppers' - a sort of pancake cooked as a dish shape, which can then be filled, which left us a little underwhelmed but is worth a try.

Room Tip: All rooms face outwards towards the river so I don't think there are 'bad' rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SylviaHen49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
158 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is amazing! The bar and pool side dining area all face the pool on a slope with the actual dining area upstairs, but still a balcony overlooking the pool and river. Staff are amazingly helpful and smiley. Breakfast is gorgeous too and the rooms were fab. Maybe no more than a few nights, you have to drive to get to Kandy, but a great hotel. definitely recommend!!!!!!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank romi1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaffna, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night in April 2014 and had a great time! The pool was great the staff were very friendly and attentive. There was a great atmosphere in the bar in the evening. The view was lovely and the rooms were spacious and very clean. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank millavanilla1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

After a long drive from Colombo, our first impression of the Cinnamon Citadel was that we'd boarded a nice, clean cruise ship that'd been built into the bank of the Mahaweli River. That is to say that the lobby, bar, pool and common areas are clean and designed for accommodating guests on a larger scale than that of a boutique hotel.

Upon arrival we were quickly out at ease by the very helpful and professional front desk staff. We were also relieved to be immediately connected with their excursion planner. The gentlemen heading their tour planning (essentially a local expedition concierge), quickly and efficiently discovered our interests, put together an itinerary, and set us up with a local driver/guide.

Knowing that we only had a couple of days to take in the highlights around Kandy, we knew we'd be spending much of our visit away from the hotel. Most important to us, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable; the staff genuinely friendly and helpful, and the food was among the best we enjoyed in Sri Lanka.

Our room had a nice small balcony with a view of their beautiful, landscaped grounds overlooking the river. The bathroom looked to have been recently updated, but the bedroom area could've stood a fresh redecorating as well. The hotel's common areas are also still passable, but are quietly crying for freshening up, if not an overhaul.

The most pleasurable surprise of our stay was the breakfast & dinner buffet in the first floor main dining room. We ate a fully forgettable meal in their "fancy" a la carte restaurant our first night. As one of only 3 tables seated, we wondered why the place was so empty. The next evening our mystery was solved when we realized that the food from the buffet outshone their signature restaurant in every way, on top of being a much better bargain.

Bottom line: while the Cinnamon Citadel may need a bit of updating, it's still a good 4 star value.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Surfbrutha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
3.5 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#11 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 53 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing