We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Kandy itself is a pretty mental city, so I felt an instant wave of calm and peace arriving at this hotel! It is the location of the hotel that sets it apart. It is right on the river which makes for a very peaceful breakfast and dinner setting. If you are in the bar, make sure you try the Arrack cocktails, they are super tasty!

Room Tip: The rooms are a good size, just make sure you request a room with a view - stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonWaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    1,038
    282
    72
    48
See reviews for
612
1,209
56
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Spent 2 nights at this hotel on a tour of Sri Lanka in April its a lovely hotel they gave us a really warm welcome when we arrived feeling very hot, welcomed us with a cold towel and a very refreshing drink. room was lovely over looking the river we had great view of the fruit bats flying over at dusk. we booked our holiday with Jane at Travel PA she did a fantastic job with our itinerary and made our holiday very memorable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Citadel has the finest location. It is little bit old, but very nice. I love the lobby area and the restaurant area which is open to the mahaweli river.
Rooms are spacious and clean. And i love the bathtub there. Bathrooms are very clean and modern.
Food is incredible. No wonder, Cinnamon food is same in everywhere. love their steaks!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chathini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A very clean and stylist hotel with excellent breakfast and buffet evening meal to suit all tastes.
Take a boat trip from the hotel on the Mahaweli River to see birds, bats and lizards, you also get a feel for the local area. The rooms are very good and clean and take British and European plugs. An easy ride in a Tuk Tuk into Kandy to see the sites.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillips52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. Sri Lanka.
We were extremely delighted to know that you enjoyed your overall experience with us and were extremely pleased with the attentive and dedicated service extended to you by our staff. It was great to learn that you were pleased with the surrounding location / Mahaweli River & boat ride.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable cinnamon experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Situated on the banks of the Mahaweli River, approximately 3kms from Kandy centre, it was an idyllic setting. Our room was large, comfortable and clean. The buffet style breakfasts and dinners offered a wide variety of delicious dishes, Western, Sri Lankan and Asian in general. The waiting staff were most attentive. The hotel was quite full as it is obviously on the ‘guided tour’ itinerary, but with it’s large open reception and bar, leading down to terraces and a beautiful pool, it didn't feel crowded. We had only two criticisms. (1) Our room was situated immediately under the kitchen (the restaurant facilities being on the 1st floor) and, unfortunately, when the restaurant closed (10.00'ish) we were subjected to noisey dishwashers, and the clattering of china. (2) It was a little too far to walk into Kandy – especially in 37-38 degrees, although tuk-tuks were always available. A good base for touring Kandy, visiting tea plantations and other towns in the Highland regions.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the floor situated beneath the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We were most delighted to note that you were overall pleased with the service and product available at the hotel and fascinated with the view of the pool & the river. Your gracious comments have been shared with the entire team and our associates were equally happy to note that you had a lovely vacation with us.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is pretty nice all in all, and a solid 8/10 in my opinion. As mentioned elsewhere, the bar and pool side are really nice, and the staff were friendly. The rooms are clean and well maintained, and the food is decent. Personally i think the decor is a bit dated, but this is only my opinion and my girlfriend disagreed with me on this. The hotel has all the amenities you need however, and is fair value for money. I would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unique160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. While thanking you again for your compliments, we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The location by the river in Kandy makes this a very pleasant hotel, but that does mean mozzies are about!
The staff were fantastic , so helpful and pleasant.
We liked the decor of the whole place including the room. It felt both modern and traditional.
Food was very good and the cool area of the buffet was a very good idea. We tried the local 'hoppers' - a sort of pancake cooked as a dish shape, which can then be filled, which left us a little underwhelmed but is worth a try.

Room Tip: All rooms face outwards towards the river so I don't think there are 'bad' rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SylviaHen49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
755 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#2 of 54 in Kandy
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kandy
997 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
688 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#12 of 54 in Kandy
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing