We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Nearby Hotels
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sevana City Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,775)
Filter reviews
2,775 results
Traveller rating
1,124
1,177
335
84
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,124
1,177
335
84
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivera la carte restaurantsri lankalovely hotelmain restaurantswimming poolsuperior roombuffet stylefruit batsour honeymoonhalf boardlovely pooldinner buffetpublic areasstayed longerhotel is situatedtwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
1,479 - 1,484 of 2,775 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Kandy itself is a pretty mental city, so I felt an instant wave of calm and peace arriving at this hotel! It is the location of the hotel that sets it apart. It is right on the river which makes for a very peaceful breakfast and dinner setting. If you are in the bar, make sure you try the Arrack cocktails, they are super tasty!

Room Tip: The rooms are a good size, just make sure you request a room with a view - stunning
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonWaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Spent 2 nights at this hotel on a tour of Sri Lanka in April its a lovely hotel they gave us a really warm welcome when we arrived feeling very hot, welcomed us with a cold towel and a very refreshing drink. room was lovely over looking the river we had great view of the fruit bats flying over at dusk. we booked our holiday with Jane at Travel PA she did a fantastic job with our itinerary and made our holiday very memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Citadel has the finest location. It is little bit old, but very nice. I love the lobby area and the restaurant area which is open to the mahaweli river.
Rooms are spacious and clean. And i love the bathtub there. Bathrooms are very clean and modern.
Food is incredible. No wonder, Cinnamon food is same in everywhere. love their steaks!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chathini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A very clean and stylist hotel with excellent breakfast and buffet evening meal to suit all tastes.
Take a boat trip from the hotel on the Mahaweli River to see birds, bats and lizards, you also get a feel for the local area. The rooms are very good and clean and take British and European plugs. An easy ride in a Tuk Tuk into Kandy to see the sites.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillips52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. Sri Lanka.
We were extremely delighted to know that you enjoyed your overall experience with us and were extremely pleased with the attentive and dedicated service extended to you by our staff. It was great to learn that you were pleased with the surrounding location / Mahaweli River & boat ride.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable cinnamon experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Situated on the banks of the Mahaweli River, approximately 3kms from Kandy centre, it was an idyllic setting. Our room was large, comfortable and clean. The buffet style breakfasts and dinners offered a wide variety of delicious dishes, Western, Sri Lankan and Asian in general. The waiting staff were most attentive. The hotel was quite full as it is obviously on the ‘guided tour’ itinerary, but with it’s large open reception and bar, leading down to terraces and a beautiful pool, it didn't feel crowded. We had only two criticisms. (1) Our room was situated immediately under the kitchen (the restaurant facilities being on the 1st floor) and, unfortunately, when the restaurant closed (10.00'ish) we were subjected to noisey dishwashers, and the clattering of china. (2) It was a little too far to walk into Kandy – especially in 37-38 degrees, although tuk-tuks were always available. A good base for touring Kandy, visiting tea plantations and other towns in the Highland regions.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the floor situated beneath the kitchen
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We were most delighted to note that you were overall pleased with the service and product available at the hotel and fascinated with the view of the pool & the river. Your gracious comments have been shared with the entire team and our associates were equally happy to note that you had a lovely vacation with us.

It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews