We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Property... Could do with better servicing....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Property is very good, aptly located near the Mahavelli River.... They arranged for a river cruise for us which was very good.... They however goofed up a couple of places.... I asked for a glass of water with some lemon juice squeezed in, they didn't make me sign any receipt but added this to my bill.... Also they overcharged me for the screwdriver instead of 460 Lankan Rupees plus taxes - they charged me approx 880 Lankan Rupees.... I came to know abt this later after we left since someone else in our group signed for the bill at the time of checkout.... Can't do anything abt it now - its too late.....
Another hiccup was during dinner - we had categorically requested for vegetarian dishes.... we were served bread as well as Icecream which contained eggs... Ideally they should have a set of marking like a green dot for vegetarian & a red dot for non-veg (which I suggested after we discovered the goofup).....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMahbubani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. Issues that you encountered with are taken on board, While thanking for your comments. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,385 - 1,391 of 2,660 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Citadel was our second stay in Srilanka. We stayed two nights in Chaaya Village and then came to Cinnamon Citadel via spice roads. The garden Isivara was a nice venue to try traditional Srilankan culture and cuisine. We came to Citadel bit late in the afternoon. The welcome was very nice and the friendly staff helped us to check-in so quickly. Our tour operator, Different Discovery had book us a superior room but we wanted to upgrade it into a Deluxe so, we had to pay the difference directly to the reception.
Deluxe rooms are located in the new wing of the resort with a choice of views; the garden or the river. Location of the room was extremely the peace and solitude of the surroundings of the hotel. We enjoyed Ceylon's finest tea whilst enjoying views of the big river Mahaweli from their spacious balcony.
Room was well spacious, clean and tidy. Wash room was very clean and tidy. The buffet breakfast and dinner were extremely tasty. We trued different types of Srilankan rice and curry. We actually have nothing to say bad about the hotel. It was an extra value for the money we spent.

Room Tip: go for a Deluxe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Our first impressions of Cinnamon Citadel was the fantastic layout which gives an amazing view of the river from the open pool and bar area. The whole site is very clean an all staff are very friendly and welcoming.
The dinner and breakfast each day was excellent with lots of variety and a specially refrigerated room for all cold items!

We were let down by two things however. Firstly the air conditioning in our initial room was broken. The management did respond very quickly to the problem (even in the middle of the night) however the air con in the room they moved us to was incredibly noisy. Since visiting the sites of Kandy is the priority of most tourists here, a good night's sleep is essential.

The second issue were the flies which were everywhere. You do expect flies on a river side site however there were many swarms of small biting midges around the pool and bar area. I lost count of the number of drinks I set aside after multiple flies had landed in them. Even when we elected to go into the enclosed restaurant for lunch we still found ourselves badgered by a very angry wasp trying to escape! This problem was so pervasive that we often elected to eat as fast as possible and just hide in our rooms.

Overall this hotel would have been perfect however we cannot say that we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your honest feedback is very much appreciated. We will take necessary precaution to prevent issues happening in the future. However we thank you once again & we eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

spent 2 nights there in our recent april trip to sri lanka. rather modern facility, excellent spacious and very clean rooms, very good restaurant - in both quality and variety of foods - for every taste and choice. even the extras are of reasonable price. staff polite and efficient. highly recomended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehud f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

spent two wonderful nights craving for more.

Pros
Great location beside Mahaweli. Try to get a river view room. Some Rooms have only garden view.
Quite big room and greatly furnished.
Good wi fi signal though the room is quite far from main lobby.
Great breakfast with a separate section for healthy foods.
Also try their buffet dinner which is value for money.
Wonderful pool with magnificent view of the hills across the river.

Cons
A little remote location bit far from the city.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank FloyDroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A high quality hotel which clings to the side of a valley, with river views. Our room had a good view, and was clean and comfortable. The food was good (though we only had breakfast there) and the bar and other facilities were first-rate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night as part of a tour of Sri Lanka. It's location is absolutely perfect, alongside the river which offers lovely views from all areas of the hotel. All staff were very polite and helpful and the room was very clean and comfortable. We did not have time to enjoy the pool, but it did look very inviting and we wish had had been able to spend more time here. The food was some of the best we had during our stay in Sri Lanka, with plenty of choice and very well presented.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 58 in Kandy
879 reviews
1 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#3 of 58 in Kandy
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#12 of 58 in Kandy
1,151 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Kandyan Hotel
Grand Kandyan Hotel
#8 of 58 in Kandy
603 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 58 in Kandy
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £94 - £683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing