We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick of the Cinnamon bunch for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at two other 'Cinnamon' hotel before arriving at Cinnamon Citadel and for us this is the pick of the bunch. Gorgeous, modern décor, with a stunning view of the Sri-Lankan jungle that you just don't expect being located only a few minutes from the centre of Kandy. A very easy check-in process and the bell boys were very quick to escort our luggage upstairs. The rooms were really lovely, clean and spacious. Bedding was very comfortable. Buffet breakfast and dinner were both very good, but not as extensive as Cinnamon Lodge and the staff were very accommodating in any request. We even had the chef make us a beautiful fish curry for our breakfast and a large platter of mangoes were served directly to our table. Staff were friendly, and very attentive. We will definitely be back....to stay much longer :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissinYue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,498)
There are newer reviews for Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,227 - 1,233 of 2,498 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Xcellent Hotel! Had a gud stay. Nice ambience, good staff. Indian food is a bit of problem but the Restuarant staff helped with a couple of ready to cook it items v carried along..pool is well maintained..xcellent view..overall come Kandy..Come Cinnamom..

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Vimlesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. . We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A lovely hotel by the river. Large selection at the buffet. Good rooms, ours had a partial view of the river and some trees. Plenty of birds in the trees and palm squirrels running around in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florida3034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Even though it is only a few minutes from the centre of Kandy, this hotel offers a natural Sri Lankan experience. On the banks of the river, it overlooks native jungle, full of birds. There is no wall on this side of the hotel so it is almost like being amongst the jungle.

However, to hand is the most extensive buffet restaurant we have come across, with Western, Indian, and Far Eastern food, beautifully displayed and served and a separate chilled room for deserts.

The service is typically friendly and efficient, like the Sri Lanka in general, with attention to important details - our room maid fashioned hand towels into elephants and scattered flower petals around them.

Room Tip: Of course, it has to be one overlooking the jungle and river
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here two nights after long days sightseeing. Each evening was delightful. Nothing around here of course but after a long day out it is an oasis. Incredible of the river. Wonderful service. Usual buffet and that does become tiresome but it is done well here. Went from Negombo around to Yalle to Beruwalla. This was the best!

Room Tip: We were on first floor which worked for us. Trotted down one flight and it seemed much more persona...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnltda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

When we had decided to visit Sri Lanka, we wanted to relax a few days. After much deliberations, we selected this hotel and we were not disappointed. The moment we stepped in, the hotel staff had us bowled over with their courteous behaviour, their welcome and the ambiance of the hotel. we were very fortunate to get a room on the top most floor of the hotel & the view from there was fantastic.
The breakfast spread was very good as was the dinner buffet. The hour long boat ride on the river around the hotel - though a bit expensive - was excellent.
The hotel itself is beautifully maintained. The property is beautiful abound on 3 sides by the river Mahaweli creates a beautiful location.
the buffet is served in the dining area which has a huge deck for out door dining. Breakfast in the mornings on the deck overlooking the river & the forest beyond is a great experience. the only problem are the mosquitoes at night during dinner - since the river is sluggish & due to water stagnation. the dining hall too is not air conditioned except for the salad bar & dessert area. So, it would be good to go during the cooler periods.
The hotel had also presented us an excellent chocolate cake on our anniversery.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river. Ask for the top most rooms. there are some rooms at the ground level and t...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nivedita_Bose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel is not in the centre of kandy but is worth the distance as the views are absolutely stunning. From the moment you enter the lobby, you get a view of the pool and the valley. Absolutely stunning. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.
Pool side area is very relaxing and the bar is wonderful. The service could have been a little quicker however, i wouldnt hold it against the team as they were trying their best and were a bit understaffed. The C cafe dinner was a bit of a let down but the breakfast is fantastic at this place with a great variety and display.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the river.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siddharth707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
795 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,310 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £78 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing