We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights in June 2014. It was very noisy - music, lots of people shouting, kids playing table tennis and shouting (table tennis is close to the rooms); had to complain to reception when it got late and we couldn't sleep. On the second night it rained a lot and at six o'clock in the morning water started dripping on the bed. When we reported this to reception they didn't know what to do! They just said uh huh and that was it - nothing else! Just before 8am a member of staff knocked on the door and asked when we were checking out! The staff need some training on how to deal with complaints and problems with rooms. We also saw a maintenance man outside our room doing something else and told him about the room - he then started walking in and out, asked us to watch the ceiling while he poured water on the roof to see the leak (even though you could clearly see where the leak was!) so we had to leave the room at 8am as he was banging about on the roof. We then had to wait until 10am in the lobby as that was the time we were being picked up. Just don't bother staying here if you want to sleep!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheryl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at cinnamon citadel kandy.
We felt very concerned to read about your uncomfortable experiences with us and we very much regret that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the service lapses you experienced during your stay and thank you for pointing out the ceiling condition which we will definitely look into for rectification.

We hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back for a more pleasant vacation with us and please do not hesitate to contact us if we could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Kandy. Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,252 - 1,258 of 2,547 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

As in all Keells Hotels , Food was super . Staff extremely pleasant and helpful and the rooms are clean and comfy.
We've been to almost all the 'Cinnamon' Hotels and the Citadel falls short of the rest and is more in the 'Chaya' category - the rooms are very basic and ordinary and the hotel doesn't have a spa or gym and although the facilities say badminton is available, there was no court.
all in all though we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niluka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be informed that we are in the process of preparing a gym. May be in few months’ time we will have a nice gym in operation. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We liked:
The setting beside the river with super views across to the vegetation on the other side
The lovely pool - great for cooling off
Large room & balcony
Extremely comfortable bed
Friendly staff

We would have liked:
Decent coffee at breakfast
Sri Lankan music rather than the awful Western music played in the evening

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Its a beautiful property situated by the river in Kandy. We had booked a triple room which was huge and had a cute balcony as well. The bathroom was also big with a nice tub and a separate shower area. The only drawback was that all the deluxe rooms were situated vary far away from the reception, restaurant, swimming pool and one had to walk down quite a few stairs ( NO ELEVATOR) to reach the room due to which it's extremely difficult for senior citizens to commute.

The breakfast spread was excellent, the service was good. We also ordered room service a few times and they were prompt. The pool is also nice and inviting. Overall the hotel property is huge and I must say that it is very well kept.

I will definitely visit here on my next visit to Kandy.

Room Tip: Book rooms closer to the lobby area or else there is a lot to walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

From the start we received poor service , checking in was slow they give you a room and you never see them again .rooms are dark and dim food was OK but nothing that special ,

waiters don't no what they doing as they ask you your room number when you come to dine once you leave they then come knocking on your door to sign the bill slips ,


The bar down stairs we would order a drink wait half hour then get up and go and order it again as they forget ( it was empty when we went )

Pls pls check your bill at checkout
It took them 1 hour to sort out our bill as we paid for bed and breakfast on the internet, but when we looked into the Bill and they had charged breakfast again and when we pointed it out the man behind the desk he wasn't happy at all and was faffing around as we asked for a refund may be half price but you get half the service .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank 01KAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with us during your stay.
We do take constructive feedback seriously and we sincerely regret that certain areas did not meet your expectations.
Rest assured we will take necessary measures to rectify the issues highlighted.
Thank you for taking time to write to us and we certainly hope to have you with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here for a day and had a breathtaking experience. The room 247 had an amazing view of the lake with a fantastic interior. The buffet (dinner & breafast ) had an amazing spread. Even the pool for children was clean with amenities.

Room Tip: Room 247 has a spectacular view during the day and the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcenroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Lovely, clean, modern and luxurious.
The food was so superb that it made this hotel truly memorable: the buffet dinners included a sort of chilled glass side-room containing the most beautifully presented starters and desserts.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starbox120862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy.
We were really impressed to note that you enjoyed the overall experiences and were pleased with the service rendered to you.
It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact us if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
566 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,338 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#4 of 56 in Kandy
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £79 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing