We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Villa Rosa(Kandy)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Secret Kandy(Kandy)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,747)
Filter reviews
2,747 results
Traveller rating
1,113
1,165
330
84
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,113
1,165
330
84
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivera la carte restaurantsri lankalovely hotelmain restaurantswimming poolsuperior roombuffet stylefruit batsour honeymoonhalf boardlovely pooldinner buffetpublic areasstayed longerhotel is situatedtwo nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,412 - 1,417 of 2,747 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights in June 2014. It was very noisy - music, lots of people shouting, kids playing table tennis and shouting (table tennis is close to the rooms); had to complain to reception when it got late and we couldn't sleep. On the second night it rained a lot and at six o'clock in the morning water started dripping on the bed. When we reported this to reception they didn't know what to do! They just said uh huh and that was it - nothing else! Just before 8am a member of staff knocked on the door and asked when we were checking out! The staff need some training on how to deal with complaints and problems with rooms. We also saw a maintenance man outside our room doing something else and told him about the room - he then started walking in and out, asked us to watch the ceiling while he poured water on the roof to see the leak (even though you could clearly see where the leak was!) so we had to leave the room at 8am as he was banging about on the roof. We then had to wait until 10am in the lobby as that was the time we were being picked up. Just don't bother staying here if you want to sleep!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheryl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at cinnamon citadel kandy.
We felt very concerned to read about your uncomfortable experiences with us and we very much regret that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the service lapses you experienced during your stay and thank you for pointing out the ceiling condition which we will definitely look into for rectification.

We hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back for a more pleasant vacation with us and please do not hesitate to contact us if we could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Kandy. Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

As in all Keells Hotels , Food was super . Staff extremely pleasant and helpful and the rooms are clean and comfy.
We've been to almost all the 'Cinnamon' Hotels and the Citadel falls short of the rest and is more in the 'Chaya' category - the rooms are very basic and ordinary and the hotel doesn't have a spa or gym and although the facilities say badminton is available, there was no court.
all in all though we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niluka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be informed that we are in the process of preparing a gym. May be in few months’ time we will have a nice gym in operation. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We liked:
The setting beside the river with super views across to the vegetation on the other side
The lovely pool - great for cooling off
Large room & balcony
Extremely comfortable bed
Friendly staff

We would have liked:
Decent coffee at breakfast
Sri Lankan music rather than the awful Western music played in the evening

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Its a beautiful property situated by the river in Kandy. We had booked a triple room which was huge and had a cute balcony as well. The bathroom was also big with a nice tub and a separate shower area. The only drawback was that all the deluxe rooms were situated vary far away from the reception, restaurant, swimming pool and one had to walk down quite a few stairs ( NO ELEVATOR) to reach the room due to which it's extremely difficult for senior citizens to commute.

The breakfast spread was excellent, the service was good. We also ordered room service a few times and they were prompt. The pool is also nice and inviting. Overall the hotel property is huge and I must say that it is very well kept.

I will definitely visit here on my next visit to Kandy.

Room Tip: Book rooms closer to the lobby area or else there is a lot to walk
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

From the start we received poor service , checking in was slow they give you a room and you never see them again .rooms are dark and dim food was OK but nothing that special ,

waiters don't no what they doing as they ask you your room number when you come to dine once you leave they then come knocking on your door to sign the bill slips ,


The bar down stairs we would order a drink wait half hour then get up and go and order it again as they forget ( it was empty when we went )

Pls pls check your bill at checkout
It took them 1 hour to sort out our bill as we paid for bed and breakfast on the internet, but when we looked into the Bill and they had charged breakfast again and when we pointed it out the man behind the desk he wasn't happy at all and was faffing around as we asked for a refund may be half price but you get half the service .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank 01KAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with us during your stay.
We do take constructive feedback seriously and we sincerely regret that certain areas did not meet your expectations.
Rest assured we will take necessary measures to rectify the issues highlighted.
Thank you for taking time to write to us and we certainly hope to have you with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews