We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Sri Lankan Hospitality in Kandy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the Cinnamon Citadel for one night, last weekend (28th Dinner to 29th Lunch).

Citadel is a very beautiful hotel set on the banks of the Mahaweli River, my family enjoyed view of the river. The rooms are clean, service was excellent all over the resort.

The food was great, Chefs in the Action corner was fast & attentive. layout of the buffet was neat & tidy, you can choose things easily. The bar staff were lovely and it was nice to sit with a drink in such stunning surroundings, one of the Bar staff made Orange juice for my one year daughter which she enjoyed very much.

Thanks to the Team Citadel for great services & memorable stay, special thanks to Arosha, Chef Raminda, Chef TDS, Jeewantha.

Keep up the good work!!!

Room Tip: Use the balcony for evening tea or pre dinner drinks!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaminda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. While thanking you for your nice comments, We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,300 - 1,306 of 2,621 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was our first stop in Sri Lanka. We loved the location overlooking the river. The noises in the morning were great to wake up to. The food and rooms were excellent. We loved seeing the bats fly down the river in the early evening. All the staff were helpful and friendly and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shirley f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Very stylish hotel beautifully appointed and maintained. Revived from the hustle of Kandy in the great pool with gin & tonic in hand. Ate at the Panorama restaurant and had excellent buffets both at night and for breakfast. Offered range of Central Asian foods and western dishes...all very well prepared and presented.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CRVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Travelled in Nov. 2013 as part of a tour around Sri Lanka with my Mum, so we only stayed here for a couple of days. Our room was lovely and looked straight over both the pool and the river with a nice big balcony.

We found the food very enjoyable with a good selection and really lovely staff who were always very friendly.

The location is simply stunning.

Room Tip: Central room overlooking the pool and the river was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Recently refurbished rooms have panoramic view of the pool & the river. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I spent there one night with my friends. The rooms were in excellent condition with all the usual amenities. We stayed in a room in the ground level which is faced directly to the Mahaweli river with a great view. And the food was really good. There were lots of items in the buffet belonging to different cuisines. Their provided excellent service during our stay at all levels.

Room Tip: If you wish to access the garden by the river banks you should choose a room in the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharithaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so mush again for your positive feedback. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at the Cinnamon Citadel for 2 nights on our recent trip to Sri Lanka. It is a very beautiful hotel set on the banks of the Mahaweli River. The rooms are clean with all usual amenities and a great view of the river. Room service was excellent. The food was good, but then layout of the buffet was quite cramped. The bar staff were lovely and it was nice to sit with a drink in such stunning surroundings. The only downside was check in - I think they forgot we were coming as it was a long time before we were shown to our rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickiChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. Thank you once again for our comments concerning room service & the food was taken positively. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I wanted to express my appreciation for the superior service which I received during my stay at Cinnamon citadel Kandy. its happy to say for their excellent customer service.
well done Cinnamon team
keep it up ,

hope to see you again soon
Pubudu

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pubudu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#2 of 57 in Kandy
585 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#12 of 57 in Kandy
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#11 of 57 in Kandy
1,118 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 57 in Kandy
1,399 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 57 in Kandy
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £102 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing