We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and lovely rooms- value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Englewood, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and lovely rooms- value for money”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Positives:
Beautiful location by the river, cleanliness, room size, attention to detail, excellent service standards, some sports options available, neat sitting by the poolside

Negatives:
Food for vegetarians could be much better

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    989
    1,049
    283
    76
    48
See reviews for
629
1,219
57
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Kandy is simply magical and this hotel backed it up perfectly. We were lucky enough to have a room looking smack bang over the pool and river and it was just lovely. the changing light throughout the day ensured a varied vista, not to mention the birds...and bats!

Food was excellent with enormous choice and fine quality.

Bar area had space, air and light so no complaints there. Pretty pool area too.

And of course....the unwavering Sri Lankan hospitality was in abundance.

Room Tip: We were in a room just above the restaurant - which sounds bad but really isn't - it commands so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mouse1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel in Kandy Sri Lanka.

We were enchanted to note that you were pleased with the room that we allocated you. Thank you once again for your feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I need to mention his name as well Mr thilina . He is doing good in his work what u have given to him .he is maintaining the pool area clean and neat as well. And his behavior is excellent i not need to tell more if him .he is very gooooooooooooooooood. Hope Mr tilina u have a great feature good luck

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comment on Thilina we will share this with him. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the Cinnamon Citadel for one night, last weekend (28th Dinner to 29th Lunch).

Citadel is a very beautiful hotel set on the banks of the Mahaweli River, my family enjoyed view of the river. The rooms are clean, service was excellent all over the resort.

The food was great, Chefs in the Action corner was fast & attentive. layout of the buffet was neat & tidy, you can choose things easily. The bar staff were lovely and it was nice to sit with a drink in such stunning surroundings, one of the Bar staff made Orange juice for my one year daughter which she enjoyed very much.

Thanks to the Team Citadel for great services & memorable stay, special thanks to Arosha, Chef Raminda, Chef TDS, Jeewantha.

Keep up the good work!!!

Room Tip: Use the balcony for evening tea or pre dinner drinks!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaminda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. While thanking you for your nice comments, We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was our first stop in Sri Lanka. We loved the location overlooking the river. The noises in the morning were great to wake up to. The food and rooms were excellent. We loved seeing the bats fly down the river in the early evening. All the staff were helpful and friendly and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shirley f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Very stylish hotel beautifully appointed and maintained. Revived from the hustle of Kandy in the great pool with gin & tonic in hand. Ate at the Panorama restaurant and had excellent buffets both at night and for breakfast. Offered range of Central Asian foods and western dishes...all very well prepared and presented.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CRVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Travelled in Nov. 2013 as part of a tour around Sri Lanka with my Mum, so we only stayed here for a couple of days. Our room was lovely and looked straight over both the pool and the river with a nice big balcony.

We found the food very enjoyable with a good selection and really lovely staff who were always very friendly.

The location is simply stunning.

Room Tip: Central room overlooking the pool and the river was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Recently refurbished rooms have panoramic view of the pool & the river. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kandy
775 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 55 in Kandy
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#11 of 55 in Kandy
374 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing