We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired room but wonderful pool /terrace area with stunning view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
76 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Tired room but wonderful pool /terrace area with stunning view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Part of a national chain this hotel is located on the banks of a river affording it stunning views and surrounded by deep lush vegetation. The rooms are certainly not as high end as it's sister hotel in Habarana and although the bathroom had been refurshied recently the room was a little bare and tired and smelt of damp! It was however very suitable as a base and the pool and bar areas were lovely to relax in.

Breakfast was good and included a wide range of foods, you can eat on the terrace overlooking the pool and river is a stunning view.

We didn't eat here on an evening because despite what your guides would tell you it's very safe, easy and cheap to get into Kandy and experience some local culture. It's only a couple of pounds in a tuktuk. Kandy is pretty dead on be night but there are a few places worth going if you don't want the sanitised hotel food, we enjoyed Muslim House which was full of very friendly locals and backpackers - we had the best food there for our whole week in Sri Lanka, don't go here if you want luxury but it you want to experience some real character it's a must.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    929
    994
    276
    70
    45
See reviews for
574
1,173
52
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Hotel overlooks the river in a quiet location outside the town centre (which can be pretty hectic) - it was nice to return to the hotel and relax by the pool after exploring in the morning. There was only myself and another couple by the pool. Rooms were good if a little dated. Range of food on offer was extensive - the fresh cooked pasta was a favourite for our family, as were the range of desserts on offer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your valued opinion on Trip ad visor following your recent holiday at cinnamon Citadel Kandy.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

A lovely hotel situated overlooking the river and about a couple of miles from Kandy. I believe all the rooms have the river view and all have balconies and excellent facilities. Great food and very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel is situated in the beautiful city of Kandy and it is very beautiful scenery throughout the hotel. In the night hotel looks more beautiful and classical and there is a live band playing a mix of english and sinhala songs. The garden area is very beautiful and relaxing with lovely flowers. Since sometimes its very cold in Kandy it would be really great to have heaters in the swimming pool as well as hot water in the showers near the swimming pool as some people would like to use the pool in the late evenings.
However we faced a couple of problems firstly i booked four rooms and I specifically asked to give the rooms adjoining. This was mentioned in the reservation invoice that was sent to me as well. However we were given 3 rooms adjoining and the other room was after 3 other rooms.
The second problem was we were given family rooms which had doors connecting to the next room. Saturday night after returning from the buffet we wanted to watch the FIFA world cup match. We had only set the volume to 10 and the next room lady knocked on the door and asked us to reduce the volume as her kid was not sleeping. Since it was a little kid we fulfilled the request since it was not their fault but the hotels fault.
We came for a holiday and expected to spend time leisurely if we cant watch TV in our own room at a normal volume, then there's no point in the holiday.
The variation of the buffet was not that pleasing. We checked in for lunch and the lunch & dinner buffet menus were almost same with slight changes. Even for dessert the items were almost same. The following day breakfast was good and especially the hoppers were very tasty.
But frankly speaking was expecting a better buffet spread from a cinnamon hotel especially the lunch & dinner buffets.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanil_Jayamaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.
We are deeply distressed to learn that you did not have a memorable stay with us. We apologize that the room allocation & the food did not meet your expectations. We are constantly reviewing our standards and always endeavor to improve our product and service offerings. Your constructive feedback is therefore deeply valued by us and will certainly be looked in to as areas where we could better our quality standards.
Thank you for taking time to write to us and we certainly hope to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Positives:
Beautiful location by the river, cleanliness, room size, attention to detail, excellent service standards, some sports options available, neat sitting by the poolside

Negatives:
Food for vegetarians could be much better

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback we eagerly look forward to having you with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Kandy is simply magical and this hotel backed it up perfectly. We were lucky enough to have a room looking smack bang over the pool and river and it was just lovely. the changing light throughout the day ensured a varied vista, not to mention the birds...and bats!

Food was excellent with enormous choice and fine quality.

Bar area had space, air and light so no complaints there. Pretty pool area too.

And of course....the unwavering Sri Lankan hospitality was in abundance.

Room Tip: We were in a room just above the restaurant - which sounds bad but really isn't - it commands so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mouse1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel in Kandy Sri Lanka.

We were enchanted to note that you were pleased with the room that we allocated you. Thank you once again for your feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I need to mention his name as well Mr thilina . He is doing good in his work what u have given to him .he is maintaining the pool area clean and neat as well. And his behavior is excellent i not need to tell more if him .he is very gooooooooooooooooood. Hope Mr tilina u have a great feature good luck

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comment on Thilina we will share this with him. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
3.5 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#9 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
2.2 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#11 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#4 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing