We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I loved our stay at the Citadel. We had been staying on the Executive floor at the Cinnamon Grand in Colombo and on the day we were supposed to go to Kandy, I got food poisoning and was too sick to travel. The Exec level staff kindly modified our booking so that we spent one extra night in Colombo and weren't charged for the same night in Kandy, which I was extremely grateful for. In addition, we were given a room upgrade upon arrival. The room was spacious and clean and well appointed. The hotel has beautiful views from the main restaurant, and the bar/pool area, overlooking a beautiful river and forrest. It was about a 15 minute drive to the main city area (which is really too dusty and noisy to stay in for me).The service is excellent, especially the senior staff at the front desk and main restaurant. The staff are very friendly, polite and warm. The service can be a little slow around the pool area, but I think this is largely because some of the seating is slightly hidden from the main view. The Chef was very accommodating, kindly complying with my husband's request to serve hoppers at breakfast (on the day when they weren't supposed to be served) and he also cooked us some special curries for dinner (which weren't on the menu). Highly recommended and we will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller204674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. We eagerly look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    1,004
    276
    71
    45
See reviews for
582
1,183
53
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon in July. The hotel was perfect, just the right distance outside the hustle and bustle of Kandy with lovely facilities and a great room. The staff were extremely helpful and alway smiling and happy to help. The food was great, especially the Cafe C restaurant. It was a shame more people chose the Pavillion buffet as Cafe C's a la carte menu was brilliant, amazing food and great service.
WE stayed for 3 nights, just the right amount of time, we felt, to enjoy what Kandy has to offer. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to escape but still see the sights.

Room Tip: Ask for river-facing as you'll get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your comments on Trip advisor following your recent stay at Cinnamon Citadel-Kandy.
We were most delighted to note that you were overall pleased with the personalized service of our staff. Customer Care is one of our highest priorities in Cinnamon Hotels and it is rewarding to receive such praise and compliments.

Please consider citadel for your next holiday & we look forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,238 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 586 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

There was nothing to fault about this hotel except for its location where needed transport to whatever wished to visit. Restaurant serves very good evening meals and dining area and balcony were excellent surrounds for a very pleasant breakfast. Rooms of moderate size and comfortable. Overall a very good quality and well run establishment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Customer service is our number one priority & your comments concerning the food are very highly appreciated.
Thank you once again & we eagerly look forward to welcoming you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have been to this beautiful Hotel in September'13. The small town of Kandy is a charming location and after the winding roads, when you reach the hotel, you are instantly put on a relaxed mood.
The architecture and ambience of the hotel are suited for family or couples on a vacation and the rooms offer scenic view of the river downstream. The area near pool is good for evening outing and the restaurant near the pool has excellent food offerings.
The terrace close to breakfast area is like a deck and the excellent and varied options in the buffet breakfast really make the holiday experience doubly rewarding.
In short, suggest any one visiting Kandy to try this hotel and return with pleasant memories.

Room Tip: Facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sutapa1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Cinnamon Citadel-Kandy

We were delighted to note that you were overall contented with the product and we have shared your compliments with the entire team as well we thank you for recommending our hotel.

It would be great having you back with us for another memorable experience and please do not hesitate to contact me if I could be of any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

A bit like a typical corporate hotel really, not personal or particularly unique, but everything you need provided professionally. Nothing amazing but nothing disappoints, all the facilities you need but nothing that stands out.
The pool, food, and rooms are all quite acceptable. The staff are polite and helpful.
The only 'niggle' I could make is that bathrooms of each room have open high level louvres venting straight into the corridor so any noise you make in your bathroom is heard by any passer-by down the public corridors (so be warned!!!).
We had Room 305 and the aircon was very noisy indeed which did not aid sleep, but it had to stay on as it was hot when we were there (July).
Each room has a nice terrace and it appeared that all rooms were smoking (fine for me as a smoker but not pleasant for non-smokers I expect). you might be advised to ask for a non smoking room if they are available?
We had to ask for our four pillows to be changed as they smelt of stale body odour (the pillow itself, not the linen which was fresh) but that's not something easily identifiable by housekeeping so no deducted points, and the change was fuss free and quick.
A perfectly good hotel as a base in Kandy, if a bit unexciting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NightOwl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. Constructive criticism is always appreciated as it helps us to better our product and service offerings, so we thank you sincerely for sharing your honest feedback which is deemed invaluable to us. Will certainly be considered as areas of improvement. Whilst thanking you for sharing your feedback with us, we certainly hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our resort for a more memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We absolutely loved our time at Cinnamon Citadel. It's a great hotel, with extremely friendly staff and amazing food. The hotel is located just outside of Kandy, so it costs about 400-500 Rupee to take a tuk tuk into the city centre. We really liked the location as it has a beautiful view over the river, and is very quiet.

The bathrooms have recently been renovated, but the rooms themselves could use an update. When we arrived, there was such a strong smell of mould, and we had to leave the door open for a while to air it out. There was also mould and stains on a couple of the chairs in the room. I'm sure the rooms will be renovated soon, as the rest of the hotel looks brand new.

Overall, we loved it and would definitely go back.

A tip if you're travelling with Walkers Tours - Hotels with the word 'Cinnamon' in the name (e.g. Cinnamon Citadel, Cinnamon Lodge) are owned by Walkers, so if you are using a driver from Walkers, it should be much cheaper for you to book a package deal rather than separately booking your transport plus accommodation at Cinnamon hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Europa2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This Hotel is very bright and modern. Far reaching views over the terraced seating area and bar and over the river to the lush vegetation on the other side. The rooms are great with all the mod cons I have now learnt to expect on this holiday. We had time to swim each evening before we changed for dinner had a drink at the bar and joined our fellow travellers! Each evening dinner for our group started at 19.30hrs and we tended to join the table(s) from about 20.30hrs onwards. Another triumph of an Hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCB1132b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
3.5 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#11 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 53 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing