We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We went there in july 2010 as a part of honeymoon... I was very excited to go this place as i had read that this place was owned by aone lankan chief... The hotel is beautifully made with all the rooms have river facing balcony... It is lovely feel to sit in the balcony at night and yes we even sat at the seating area over the river... The hotel gives a very fresh kind of a feel... Main city is quite far from which is an advantage n disadvantage too.. But the hotel is very good food is quite good too... It's a must visit place is u r going to srilanka....

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aakankshavohra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. Guest satisfaction is our main priority & and we welcome all your comments, suggestions we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,172 - 1,178 of 2,520 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

My fiancé and I found ourselves in Kendy as part of a wedding group, however we stayed at a different hotel, as the initial hotel was booked out and frankly we got very lucky!

The hotel is situated on the lake and has great views from the pool and bar areas, the staff are reasonably helpful, but ahead of the standard we experienced elsewhere in Kandy. The room was spacious and quiet, with good amenities and a comfy bed. Room service was available at a good rate, but we didn't use it.

The room included breakfast and dinner and this was a highlight of the hotel. An amazing spread of local and western food in a large dining room overlooking the pool and lake. The menu changed each day and was absolutely world class.

The hotel is a little ways out of town and it was about a $5 yuk yuk ride into the main shopping / dining area. It's also quite close to the temple and river attractions.

There are two reasons why the hotel did not receive the full 5 star rating. They both relate to the fact we were there during the Perahera festival. Firstly, bars were closed and there was no serving of alcohol during our stay. This was not a huge issue for us, but it would have been nice to know this at the time of booking. The second was a more serious issue....when we went to check out of the hotel, we were told there was a US$65 a day levy applied for the festival. On a room that was around US$150 a night, this is quite an addition. At no stage during the booking (we used HotelClub) was this mentioned and we could not find any mention on the hotel site. When we questioned the fee, we were told by the staff that we were informed by our travel agent....of which we had none. They also wanted to charge the fee on a separate invoice in $US (even though they rest of our charges were in SR Rupee!

This was a pretty seedy end to what had been a great stay, which was a shame. So, if you plan to stay here, make sure you confirm there are no hidden charges before you book.

Room Tip: Contact hotel to confirm there are no hidden charges before you go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JayHi96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights ...felt too less should have extended for 1 more night... too many good things to say .... if anyone asks me.... one of the best place for honeymoon.... :)
just a great place and ambiance

Room Tip: best place to be..... just awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vishalwagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. While thanking you for your stay we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I have been waiting to visit this hotel for sometime. Due to the facts i have gathered through the internet this place was once owned by a kandyan chief. When Last King Sri Wickrama Rajasinghe did the official visits to various location this was a stopover and he used bathe in Mahaweli river. That itself has attracted me. Apart from the ancient value , as usual Cinnamon hotels are well known for scrumptious food and warm hospitality. The scenic beauty of Mahaweli river was a soothing experience.

One thing i would like to suggest is that to change the uniform of male staff and some of them can be bit more friendly and professional when dealing with the customers.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lakshitha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your comments on trip advisor following your recent visit to cinnamon citadel Kandy.
It was so nice to read your lovely comments on our history, Location & food. Thank you once again & we look forward to see you again for stay over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed two nights as part of a tour of a Hayes and Jarvis Classic Tour package. Well appointed hotel by the river, a little out of town but an adventurous Tuc Tuc ride at £2.50 each way soon gets you into the heart of the city.
Staff were good, food very good (variety and standard)

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6amigos_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality.
Guest satisfaction is our main goal at citadel. While thanking you again for your comments we eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in August. It's a lovely hotel but needs to improve . The hotel is by the river and mosquito s are in abundance here so having a good mosquito repellent is a must. Maybe the hotel could do more about this problem with repellent sprays and smoking in the mornings and evenings. We travelled around Sri Lanka and stayed in 4 hotels on our trip and this was the only hotel I was bitten in.
The hotel was quite noisy . In the morning the staff cleaning the rooms were about early which is understandable but they are contacted but telephones which when it rings is loud and wakes the guests up. The room was really clean and this was done twice a day thre cleaning staff made an effort.
The restaurant was lovely but there was again room for improvment. On the first morning I asked for decaff coffee and was told they didn't have any as I have a medical problem and cant have normal coffee this was a huge disapointment at breakfast time. There was decaff coffee the next morning but there seemed to be a lot of chatting between staff about it and it took 30 minutes to get the coffee this carried on for the rest of our stay. The food was good but the staff in the restaurant seemed to be clickig their heels when there was jobs to be done, with customers waiting with requests. On our last morning the staff were very attentive in fact it was over powering and not genuine then we got handed a guest questionnaire. Nice hotel but need improvment.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view room its a lovely view with the river and jungle in the background.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your constructive & honest feedback following your recent stay at our resort.
We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. Concerns areas were discussed lengthy and action had taken on the spot.
We hope you will continue to stay with us on your future visits to Sri Lanka, giving us the opportunity to indulge you in hospitality at its best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel although unable to make the most of the facilities as we were out and about all day - when we did have time to relax by the lovely pool a tropical rainstorm ensued! Room was comfortable and well equipped, free wifi was available and the air conditioning was good. One gripe would be the lack of a lift down to the lower floors - I pitied the poor staff member who had to carry my very heavy cases up the two flights of stairs! Food was excellent - an air conditioned room for the salads and desserts and a wide range of choice.

Room Tip: Higher floors have lift access and better views - try to get one overlooking the pool area/ river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elspeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at cinnamon Citadel Kandy.

I and the entire team were very pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the pool, the food and most of all the personalized service of our team.

It would be our honor to have you back with us for another memorable experience at Citadel. Please do not hesitate to contact me for any assistance in setting up your next trip to Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
813 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,329 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#4 of 56 in Kandy
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £79 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing