We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We only stayed at cinnamon citadel for one night and we were extremely impressed. The public areas are bright and airy with a lovely view of the large pool and the river. The rooms themselves are nice and spacious with all the standard amenities. In the evening it was lovely to wander down to the river and watch all the bats flying from their roosting spots in Kandy.

The best part of our stay was the food, which was excellent. We opted for the a la carte menu at Cafe C rather than the buffet. I went for the local lake fish main on the specials which was actually one of the best dishes I had the whole trip. Furthermore it was only 750 rupees which was complete bargain! However I would avoid the puddings which were rather sub standard (buffet style over-gelatinous puddings).

We had to leave early in the morning and the staff organised a very good packed breakfast.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brit_travellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is very pleasing to note that you have enjoyed the food & service that we rented to you. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,161 - 1,167 of 2,522 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the citadel for 4 days and it was a very relaxing time at the hotel. The decor is contemprary with touches of sri lankan art. Compliments each other.
The location of this property is awesome. It touches a river. The staff are very friendly and ever helpful.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable.
There is a super variety of world cuisine on the menu.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to kandy on work or holidays.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank MUMBAIDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our warm hospitality. Please do visit us again. We eagerly look forward to your next holiday with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Public areas are bright and contemporary. Service is sound. The rooms and some of the corridors leading to them are dark and dismal and in need of refurbishment. Our room was very clean but the decor resembled the sixties and appeared tired. The bathroom was decorated with floor to ceiling black
tiles.
The hotel is located a little way out- you would need transport to visit and shops or restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Nice place very nice atmosphere to chill out and relax on the banks of the Mahaweli River. Rooms were very nice, comfortable and well equipped will all additional amneties. A nice outdoor pool with very nice pool attendants. As far as food goes... The room service food was very bad and does not include anything substantial for children and the room service people are not one bit flexible. The buffet was good however it has a long long way to come on par with any other Cinnamon Hotels (eg Cinnamon Lodge, Cinnamon Grand, Cinnamon Lakeside) and there are a couple of guys who are reluctant to serve the locals and give priority to others. Saying that the little Cafe C by the pool has lovely food served by some lovely staff.... it's a pity I didn't discover it earlier in my stay.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Yaan_colombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. It is a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay whilst with us. Your good comments concerning the location, room, amenities were well noted. Room service will be look in to detail & we will address the issues highlighted.
However we thank for your honest feedback & eagerly look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed here for one night during our one week trip in Sri Lanka as part of our honeymoon. I found this hotel to be a bit of a mixed bag. The room we had was nice but a little tired - everything worked but it would benefit from a refurb - particularly in the shower room.

The pool was taken over by children all day long so forget being able to use it if you are over 11 years old (other couples we spoke to had exactly the same experience on different days). The buffet was good but standard fare. The bar however was very nice with a nice view over the pool and lake. The food at the poolside bar was very good in terms of quality and value.

I would not specifically head here but if it is part of a package tour it is not a bad place to be by any means

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RoopzC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very spacious with excellent facilities. Food superb. Just be aware- Only down side-little bit noisy by the poolside at night and quite away from Kandy itself. But had stunning views of the river (where jungle book was filmed) and millions of fruit bats flying over at dawn/dusk..-stunning-not to be missed!!!room we had, had a balcony and very modern!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FowmeIBRAHIM, Front Office Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your compliments on Trip Ad visor following your recent stay with us at Cinnamon Citadel-Kandy.

It was a pleasure for my team and me to note that you had an amazing holiday with us. Customer care is indeed amongst one of our highest priorities in Cinnamon hotels and it is always rewarding to receive comments and appreciation such as yours. Your kind words of appreciation have been shared with the entire team and the associates were equally delighted to know that you had an amazing vacation with us.
While thanking you for your stay please do visit again for your next holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

A good hotel which is spread across several floors. we had a walk to our room which overlooked the gardens and the river. Good food and friendly service .................................................................

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
813 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,328 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 56 in Kandy
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £58 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing