We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,901)
Filter reviews
2,901 results
Traveller rating
1,174
1,217
358
93
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,174
1,217
358
93
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivera la carte restaurantsri lankalovely hotelmain restaurantsuperior roomswimming poolbuffet stylefruit batshalf boardour honeymoondinner buffetlovely poolpublic areashotel is situatedstayed longertwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 2,901 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2017

We stayed here for three nights during our holiday in Sri Lanka, service was slow and for the three days we were there we had no hot water in our room, the Hotel caters mainly for bus parties and dinner time can be a bit of a bun fight, in other words grab a table and fight your way through the crowds to the buffet before it's all gone, a good tip: make sure you have a few rupees on show service improved dramatically

Room Tip: Most rooms are the same
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jen6595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfad S, Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We do regret to learn of your experience at the hotel, which unfortunately did not meet your expectations. Some of this factors that you have pointed out such as service delays, lack of hot water have been noted and looked into.

We do assure you that guest feedback is critical to our continual improvement and we take all comments seriously. Therefore, I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Wish you a pleasant day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

The hotel is situated in centre Kandy ...when you enter you immediately see an open bar with a back pool with a view ; truly impressive entrance. Very good staff , nice rooms , very nice colour scheme used everywhere and pets in the garden .

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfad S, Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very positive endorsement of the warm hospitable service we deliver.

We appreciate you highlighting the factors that have won you over and we look forward to welcoming you back at the resort for many more holiday visits to come.

Once again we thank you for taking your time to post your review.

Wish you a pleasant day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

We were there for a one night stay. Compared to other Cinnamon hotels, this hotel falls in the average category. Food was good and had a good variety. Rooms were spacious. Pool was also nice and had a view of the river alongside. Overall it was an average experince.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Prasannag87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfad S, Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

We wish you a pleasant day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

We came from Cinnamon Grand Colombo as was recommended to stay at the same property group. This isnt a 5 star hotel.

Interior- pleasant and cosy but a little dated. The shower room is flooded after every use. Floor tiles became hazard as I fell on wet slippery floor while walking out from shower and had a cut on my right arm. They should have provided slippers or something, hotel should know better!

Service- On our first morning at breakfast when asked for coffee, a tired looking guy came and offered but greeted us in an obligated manner then walked away with eyes half opened. When asked the 2nd time for refill...it took ages.

Service- The air-con in room was too cold after first night experience so I asked for help, lady at reception said will check but didnt get back.

Service- 2nd morning at breakfast while eating, some worker was drilling and it was very unpleasant having breakfast while trying to enjoy the food and lakeview, didnt make me feel like on holiday.

Service- I was seated infront of row of potted plants at breakfast, a guy was watering the plants, he spray the plant including my back and then apologise and walked away.

Service- no one came to offer us drinking water at breakfast, it was almost breakfast closing and everyone seem to disappear, while i saw their staff helping themselves to left over breakfast. I think is shameful if management see this.

Service- Breakfast- I asked for the waffles to be heated as soft and soggy, the staff said it cannot be done.

Service- 2nd night at dinner, we ordered Al Dentè spaghetti frm the menu at Cafe C the ala carte restaurant- it arrived over cooked and soggy. It was nice when the chef came to ask if our food was alright, we feedback the overcook food and he didnt do anything after all his "public relation" talk. We stop eating there for the rest of the stay.

We are checking out tomorrow and very much looking forward to leave.

Overall- most of F&B service staff at breakfast need to wake up.
Reception- not realiable.
Bar staff- highly spirited and friendly
Entrance staff- very polite and friendly.
House keeping- regular and good.
I wouldnt pay this amount to stay here again. Many better options with this price are available elsewhere.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shraddha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfad S, Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor .

We thank you for your detailed feedback, we do regret that there were certain aspects of your stay with us which did not have a positive impact on your holiday experience. All aspects highlighted by you on service and product have been taken note of and looked into.We thank you for letting us know in detail.

Once again we thank you for taking time to write to us and we certainly hope to have you with us again.

We wish you a pleasant day .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

We were unable to stay at this hotel due to flight issues. The hotel graciously cancelled and refunded our money the day before we were set to arrive. This type of customer care will definitely cause me to book here the next time.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Noel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfad S, Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor.

We always try to maintain the same level of service at all possible areas and we are happy to know that you were a happy with the way your reservation cancellation was handled.
We do regret that you were not able to make it to the hotel due to flight delays and we sincerely hope to have you with us in the near future.

Wish you a pleasant day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews