We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“fantastic”
Reviewed 5 February 2011

the entrance to the hotel was the first thing that impressed us. The rooms were luxurious and spacious.Having a kettle and tea making items was very good which we did not have in the other hotels.The toilet and bath wre once again luxurious.We would cirtainly chose your hotel when we are next in Kandy

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calder1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    989
    1,049
    283
    76
    48
See reviews for
629
1,219
57
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Myself and my husband had put on in this hotel on 24th Dec'10 and the experience was horrible. There was not hot water in the first place after repeated requests and after 1.5 hrs the proble was attained.

Next we had to pay $140 each for a Christmas Eve party (which was equally pathetic), but as we were going for the party a notice caught our vision stating that for outsiders the entry for the party was $30 each. We could not find any suitable person to speak about this issue but next day when we asked the receptionist about the notice, the concern denied the whole fact and even humiliated us.

The whole experience was very bad with us.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debasree_Saha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

There were some good things about this hotel. The room we had was very nice, spacious and comfortable, as was the bathroom.

The swimming pool area and gardens were well looked after and pleasant.

The food however was very poor. Sri Lanka is a country in which you get great fresh food however for some reason the standard in this hotel was pretty low. We may just have been unlucky as we only stayed one night and had one dinner and one breakfast each. These meals were served buffet style and while there was a large variety several things we had were just about lukewarm and all were uninspiring. It was a bit like a school canteen

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnboyPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst on a tour with Kuoni - despite having a "superior room" it smelt damp with a scruffy patio. Good location on the river, didn't use the pool as pouring with rain. Very noisy, airport type hotel and interior, food was poor (again a buffet) and service less than average. I am sure there are better hotels than this in Candy

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DJ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Just outside of Kandys hustle and bustle. A lovely hotel with excellent facilities including hotel boat.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We had a really bad experience when staying at this hotel, it was by far the worst place we stayed in in Sri Lanka (out of 4 hotels). We had only eaten in the hotel on the day, and both of us got terrible food poisoning. We suffered with diarrhoea and vomiting for two days and couldn't even leave the room as we were so ill, and hence missed all the trips we had planned for our stay in Kandy. The hotel manager refused to acknowledge that this could have been from the buffet since no other guest had reported getting ill, but this was the only food we had eaten on the day. The manager's attitude was not apologetic in the slightest, but instead he said it was our fault as we didn't call a doctor in (there is no medication to treat food poisoning except for rehydration treatments which we had brought with us, hence had not asked for a doctor).

The hotel is full of package holidaymakers - some people are ok with this but for us this was a downside. The buffet hardly had any Sri Lankan food in it and was mostly poor quality attempts at Western dishes. This may be preferable for some travellers, but we were disappointed that very little (and very bland) Sri Lankan food was available. Saying that, I would not eat at the buffet after getting food poisoning.

The hotel claim that they have a free internet cafe, but in reality this is just one laptop at reception, and they charge you for using it. Saying that, when I tried to use it the connection didn't even work.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 111111_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Stayed here one night......
in quick points:

River view was amazing, buffet amazing, rooms very spacious, service very nice, location was good because it was on the river but not sure if it's close to any other nearby areas, very clean rooms and i was impressed that Srilanka has such amazing hotels.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mina86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kandy
775 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 55 in Kandy
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#11 of 55 in Kandy
374 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Citadel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Property: Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Address: 124 Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#3 Family Hotel in Kandy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing