We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice rooms in the new wing of the hotel”
Review of Senani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Senani Hotel
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We have spent two nights at the Senani Hotel, in the new part. One double and one triple. The rooms were at a very good western standard, spotlessly clean, without odours, quiet when balcony doors closed.
Very nice design for the room and bathroom.
The pool is pleasant and clean.
Restaurant OK (buffet)
Pleasant staff even if requested to pay the rooms in advance which sounded weird to me

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ovjhl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed one night in this hotel. They were working on improvements, so maybe it will get better, but the rooms are small and depressing. They lack color, are humid and don't smell very clean. Bathroom old, although everything was working and water was hot. Restaurant has a very nice view over Kandy! Food is average, nothing to remember.

As we travel with 2 kids we always try and find a hotel with a pool. There is a small pool, but it didn't look very clean. One could hardly see the bottom of the pool....

It's a low end hotel and next time I will try and find something more attractive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, because we didn't have one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giel-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The hotel looked good. There was some construction work going on in some parts of the hotel. On arrival, we were given a welcome drink. Checkin formalities completed in quick time and we were taken to our room. I sat on the bed as soon as I entered the room and heard something fall on the floor. When I looked down, I saw that a plank of wood which had been kept beneath the bed to support it had moved out of its place and fallen down. Lifted the bed and I saw that some of the supporting planks were not even nailed properly to hold them in their places. Called the reception and asked someone to be sent to fix it. They tried fitting the same plank again but it would not hold. Then got a new plank which was slightly
longer and it stayed in place. Next was the TV. Within few minutes of switching the TV, it would go off automatically. Got someone again to get it fixed. The person suspected some problem with the power point and got the TV plugged to a different plug but again the same problem. Finally he agreed to replace the TV and got another one. This TV worked but the remote control did not. After some failed attempts to fix the remote control, the staff gave me another remote control which worked. By then, my impression about the hotel had changed. The room was spacious and had a basket of fruits. The fruits
were fresh and tasted good. Good range of toiletries were provided in the bathroom.The hotel has a nice little swimming pool. The pool was clean and well maintained but it was the location of the pool that put me off. It was right in front of the hotel and anyone walking on the road can have a direct look at the pool. The hotel is located away from the main town and not much of choice in terms of eateries nearby. The dinner menu at the hotel was very limited. Breakfast at the hotel was also equally limited. There was no buffet. The waiter asked us what we wanted and brought them one by one. The idiyappam (stringhoppers) served for breakfast was good. The Srilankan side dishes given with the idiyappam was delicious.

The hotel is located on a hill on the outskirts of the city.The view from the room and from the restaurant is really nice.

Autorickshaws or tuk-tuks, as they are called here, can be arranged for going down into the city for shopping / eating. A couple of souvenir shops are also available within a few minutes walking distance from the hotel.


Contrary to some bad reviews I had read about the hotel, my opinion is that it is a OK kind of budget hotel with limited choice for food.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yrajesh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

The room was very humid, the furniture was poor, no mosquito net, no safe.
The bathroom was not clean and the pipes leaked (flood).
The restaurant is pleasant and overlooks beautiful green hills. The dining room is the only good thing in this hotel.
Dinner food was ok but breakfast was poor quality (stale bread) with little choice.
The group of musicians playing during dinner was noisy and intrusive.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hikingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

we´ve been there just now with our little two boys for two nights. unfortunatly all hotels in kandy were fully booked over chinese new year. So the only hotel we got a triple bed room was at senani. The best thing is the view you have from the restaurant. Maybe it will be nice in 3 years when they finished their restaurations! The pool is not nice at all. If you are sri lankan you will enjoy the food, maybe. We went to bed hungry or sick.
'The bathroom smells like a public toilet -horrible.
The staff was friendly,but at dinner time we have to wait hours for a second drink. The service staff is very slowly. One night you can resist - after that run.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mainyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

I had read some bad reviews about this hotel where we spent one night but we found it OK. We had a very nice view from our room and the room was very nice. The bathroom OK too. We were a litte disturbed after 7 a m when people started to visit the restaurant above our room but had a good sleep during the night. We found a big spider in our room but since we had had the door open to the balcony in the afternoon and there is a wood on the other side of the street, maybe that´s not so surprising! The food in the restaurant was good.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pulmonelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Stayed one night during visit to Kandy for the Perahera.

The rooms just below the open air restaurant are said to be the best in the hotel, but the noise from the restaurant is a great disadvantage, especially the lift from the kitchen in the basement to the restaurant. People were coming back from the Perahera to have their dinner until after 1 am, and they started the breakfast already at 530 am.

I had room 205 which had a great view (I guess that room 204 has an even better view). It was a nice big room with satellite TV and minibar. However too much space was taken up by a third bed. The bed was nice but the pillows were horrible.

Nice big bathroom, but the shower cubicle in the corner was tiny.

Food was at the best average. Midnight dinner was a 5 course set menu. As in many other hotels the chicken was steaming hot, while the mashed potatoes and vegetables were cold. Breakfast was buffet. Only service from the waiter was when he asked how I wanted my eggs prepared.

I was happy that my guide avoided to pay the Perahera supplement, so I only paid LKR 5,000 for the room.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans_DEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
Oak Ray Serene Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,328 reviews
1.6 mi away
View 360
View 360
#43 of 56 in Kandy
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
Serene Grand Hotel
Serene Grand Hotel
#38 of 56 in Kandy
124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senani Hotel

Address: No. 167/1 Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £46 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Senani Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Senani Hotel, a comfortable and luxurious hotel in the hill Capital. Here the guests can avail the modern comforts in a homely atmosphere. Relaxation in absolute Privacy in Luxury. Surrounded by breathtaking view of Sri Lanka's famous Hunnasgiriya and Knuckles mountain range. You can enjoy the warmth and traditional Kandyan hospitality and the tourists can move around easily from here and visit a large number of grand historical sites, which are part of rich cultural heritage of Sri Lanka ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senani Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing