We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel with great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Senani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Senani Hotel
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel with great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed one night as part of a tour and had a lovely room with great views. Dinner and breakfast was very good and restaurant also had lovely views overlooking the hills. There is a swimming pool but no real sunbathing facilities. Still a great place to stay when touring.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatSilb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    121
    108
    36
    15
See reviews for
72
110
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Located on top of a hill. The views from the restaurant is amazing specially in the morning with the sunrays falling on the extended terraces of the restaurant. Buffet breakfast was good and fulfilling.
The check in was quick and with a welcome drink. rooms were ok. Since we were for only one day. we got a swimming pool view..Hot water is available throughout. Bathroom was spacious.TV was working but has only limited channels..but since we were there to see Kandy and not the TV it didnot bother us.
Best part of the Hotel is ofcourse the view from the Hotel.
I would recommend it to anyone who is on holiday/vacation.... but not suitable for business travellers.
If available get a room on the ground floor, lower floor or first floor. There is no lift in the hotel. Staff was good .

Room Tip: Donot opt for rooms above first floor since there is no lift. Please note that the hotel staff wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdheeshKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

What is there to say? It is clean, nice view. Great swimming pool (my husband took a dive and the water went over the edge in to the garage, and my husband is certainly not heavy!) :-)
Breakfast was better than dinner. Dinner was to western orientation.
No free wifi.
Good bathroom, hair dryer, good shower.
We asked for the new wing as somebody advised on tripadvisor. So that was a very good tip.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILove2Travel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Set up on the hill this hotel is very modern, white and minimalist. Good sized rooms withe new bathrooms. Monkeys wandering about means you have to be careful leaving doors and windows open. No fridge though or tea/coffee facilities. Good air con and fan, and had a tv.

Stayed one night as part of a tour. Has nice pool but we didn't have time to try.

Food ok. We had the buffet style for dinner and breakfast, it was the usual dinner of curry style dishes and limited desserts. Breakfast average.

They had a live trio playing in the restaurant in the evening who were quite good and entertaining too.

Best part was cleanliness and the newness of the place.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
130 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed at Senani Hotel in Kennedy, the hotel is located on a hill overlooking the city, 3 star rated hotel and is at moderate to low (ranking). At several floors with no elevator, room size, with the shower not great, our room was so clean and the balcony of the room are often "guests" such as monkeys. The lobby area has free WIFI internet. The hotel restaurant offers breakfast and dinner at a reasonable average. I think the hotel suitable for individuals as their quality is not particularly important, but for a bed and hot water + meals at an affordable price. In short, not so recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yaari_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Manila
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Our tour guide/driver booked this hotel for us so we didn't really know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel, its staff, the food, and our room, were to our complete liking. Our room was in the new wing with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool. We only stayed 1 night but have absolutely no complaints! Our room was clean, nicely furnished and well-appointed. Service was great and the beef curry served during the buffet dinner was superb! Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Definitely value for money.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pagypooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Good Hotel to stay.Restuarant was also too good.The rooms were at a very good western standard, spotlessly clean, without odours, quiet when balcony doors closed.We stayed one night in this hotel.Checkin formalities completed in quick time and we were taken to our room.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsganapathys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#40 of 53 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#20 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#21 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#43 of 53 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senani Hotel

Property: Senani Hotel
Address: No. 167/1 Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Senani Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Senani Hotel, a comfortable and luxurious hotel in the hill Capital. Here the guests can avail the modern comforts in a homely atmosphere. Relaxation in absolute Privacy in Luxury. Surrounded by breathtaking view of Sri Lanka's famous Hunnasgiriya and Knuckles mountain range. You can enjoy the warmth and traditional Kandyan hospitality and the tourists can move around easily from here and visit a large number of grand historical sites, which are part of rich cultural heritage of Sri Lanka ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senani Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing