We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Senani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Senani Hotel
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed in Senani two nights, before hiking and after. For our first stay we booked a room in new wing. The room was simple but new and clean. New shower and double bed.
The second stay was in the old wing. Room had stinky, wet smell and was very old with awful mattress, noisy, old air con. and many noises from outside that we can't explain, Maybe houses next to hotel or hotels generator.
The food is average and service is good.
If you book this hotel ask for the new wing and stay away from the old one, The difference in price between two wings is $10.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex_povereny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed one night as part of a tour and had a lovely room with great views. Dinner and breakfast was very good and restaurant also had lovely views overlooking the hills. There is a swimming pool but no real sunbathing facilities. Still a great place to stay when touring.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatSilb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Located on top of a hill. The views from the restaurant is amazing specially in the morning with the sunrays falling on the extended terraces of the restaurant. Buffet breakfast was good and fulfilling.
The check in was quick and with a welcome drink. rooms were ok. Since we were for only one day. we got a swimming pool view..Hot water is available throughout. Bathroom was spacious.TV was working but has only limited channels..but since we were there to see Kandy and not the TV it didnot bother us.
Best part of the Hotel is ofcourse the view from the Hotel.
I would recommend it to anyone who is on holiday/vacation.... but not suitable for business travellers.
If available get a room on the ground floor, lower floor or first floor. There is no lift in the hotel. Staff was good .

Room Tip: Donot opt for rooms above first floor since there is no lift. Please note that the hotel staff wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdheeshKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

What is there to say? It is clean, nice view. Great swimming pool (my husband took a dive and the water went over the edge in to the garage, and my husband is certainly not heavy!) :-)
Breakfast was better than dinner. Dinner was to western orientation.
No free wifi.
Good bathroom, hair dryer, good shower.
We asked for the new wing as somebody advised on tripadvisor. So that was a very good tip.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ILove2Travel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Set up on the hill this hotel is very modern, white and minimalist. Good sized rooms withe new bathrooms. Monkeys wandering about means you have to be careful leaving doors and windows open. No fridge though or tea/coffee facilities. Good air con and fan, and had a tv.

Stayed one night as part of a tour. Has nice pool but we didn't have time to try.

Food ok. We had the buffet style for dinner and breakfast, it was the usual dinner of curry style dishes and limited desserts. Breakfast average.

They had a live trio playing in the restaurant in the evening who were quite good and entertaining too.

Best part was cleanliness and the newness of the place.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed at Senani Hotel in Kennedy, the hotel is located on a hill overlooking the city, 3 star rated hotel and is at moderate to low (ranking). At several floors with no elevator, room size, with the shower not great, our room was so clean and the balcony of the room are often "guests" such as monkeys. The lobby area has free WIFI internet. The hotel restaurant offers breakfast and dinner at a reasonable average. I think the hotel suitable for individuals as their quality is not particularly important, but for a bed and hot water + meals at an affordable price. In short, not so recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yaari_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Our tour guide/driver booked this hotel for us so we didn't really know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel, its staff, the food, and our room, were to our complete liking. Our room was in the new wing with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool. We only stayed 1 night but have absolutely no complaints! Our room was clean, nicely furnished and well-appointed. Service was great and the beef curry served during the buffet dinner was superb! Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Definitely value for money.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pagypooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.6 mi away
View 360
View 360
#41 of 57 in Kandy
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 57 in Kandy
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#48 of 57 in Kandy
67 reviews
0 mi away
Oak Ray Serene Garden Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senani Hotel

Address: No. 167/1 Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £52 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Senani Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Senani Hotel, a comfortable and luxurious hotel in the hill Capital. Here the guests can avail the modern comforts in a homely atmosphere. Relaxation in absolute Privacy in Luxury. Surrounded by breathtaking view of Sri Lanka's famous Hunnasgiriya and Knuckles mountain range. You can enjoy the warmth and traditional Kandyan hospitality and the tourists can move around easily from here and visit a large number of grand historical sites, which are part of rich cultural heritage of Sri Lanka ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Senani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senani Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing