We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small hotel , good for one or two nights”
Review of Senani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Senani Hotel
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice small hotel , good for one or two nights”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed there for one night to visit Kandy.
Was a nice room, very clean and good and new bathroom.
Very small hotel, not recommended for more than overnight stay.
Breakfast was good.
Hotel has a very nice view on the city of Kandy.
Proces are ok (we payed about 80 Euro /Night).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRReiseBerater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    126
    109
    36
    16
See reviews for
75
112
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

The rooms vary a fair bit in quality. We saw one which overlooked the pool that was rather cramped; but ended up taking a more spacious room on the top floor with a balcony and views of the valley in the back - a significant improvement. The downside is that the hotel caters to a number of large groups, hence is less intimate; however the waiters got to know us and always found us a lovely quiet spot on the balcony looking out to the views below. I didn't really care for the musicians at dinner, but my friend enjoyed it. I am not a fan of buffet meals but that seems to be the norm in most of the hotels we stayed at; my preference is to go for local meals whenever travel, and they did have a small Sri Lankan section amongst the international fare - which was tasty enough (although not excellent).

Room Tip: Get the room on the top floor looking out to the back - it has a nice balcony with a green valley vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreyH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I stayed at the Senani Hotel for one night in September 2012. I will be completely honest in that this was not my choice after staying there in 2009 and finding it very average and in need of some serious renovation. Since this time, I visited Kandy during the 2012 T20 cricket world cup, available hotel rooms in Kandy were scarce with many hotels asking for a premium price, So I agreed to stay at Senani with some reservation, after my guide told me it was much improved. And he was right! The hotel now has a new reception area and the dining room has been extended and refurbished. Of course it still has the stunning views it had before! I had one of the new bedrooms which was nicely furnished, clean and with a nice bathroom. I remember the food being very plain and uninteresting in 2009. However, this time I enjoyed a tasty Sri Lankan buffet and breakfast, although there was also a good choice of Western food. I spent my second night in Kandy in a more expensive hotel and really wished I had stayed at Senani!

Room Tip: Ask for a bedroom with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bijapur, Karnataka, India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I was with my family in Kandy from 10th to 13th November 2012. The hotel is very good. The Front Office staff are very polite and helpful. The room was clean and we have got a nice room from where the beautiful Kandy Valley was visible. The best part of the hotel is its breakfast with terrific variations ! We have enjoyed it. To me it was the best hotel breakfast I have ever had in the world !

Room Tip: Select a room facing valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Used this hotel as a one night stopover in Kandy as part of an extensive tour of the South/South East of Sri Lanka.

As always in SL, the staff were very welcoming, helpful and polite.

The room was a bit small but adequate for 1 night. We found it very strange that there was quite a high step into the bathroom and the light was located right at the opposite end to the door. Rather dangerous during a night time emergency!
We only ate dinner as we had a very early start the next morning. The food was OK and we were seranaded by a " Spanish" music trio whose repartoire ranged from flamenco to Pink Floyd!

The best feature of the hotel were the fantastic views over Kandy and the surrounding hills - fantastic.

Overall, OK for a one night touring hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPB5052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The hotel is located at a nice spot up in hills, and the view is nice from the breakfast table. The breakfast itself, however, is not splendid. They do offer a wide variety of dishes, but the taste is not that great. Rooms are small but ok. Good side of things include the nice swimming pool and friendly staff. It is a decent and affordable place to stay in while taking a tour of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NishaBothra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witten, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and the rooms were clean, the bed good but everything old fashioned especially the bathroom. I don't know if they really have a new wing, it was fully booked due to Cricket games, so please ask.
The view from the restaurant (not from the room) was amazing, the breakfast was good but the dinner was bad. We wondered about the few people eating here, but understood later on why ... .
The staff is really good, nice and friendly, for one or two nights just with breakfast it is okay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 53 in Kandy
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#47 of 53 in Kandy
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 53 in Kandy
1,049 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hilltop
Hotel Hilltop
#27 of 53 in Kandy
624 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 53 in Kandy
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senani Hotel

Property: Senani Hotel
Address: No. 167/1 Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Senani Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Senani Hotel, a comfortable and luxurious hotel in the hill Capital. Here the guests can avail the modern comforts in a homely atmosphere. Relaxation in absolute Privacy in Luxury. Surrounded by breathtaking view of Sri Lanka's famous Hunnasgiriya and Knuckles mountain range. You can enjoy the warmth and traditional Kandyan hospitality and the tourists can move around easily from here and visit a large number of grand historical sites, which are part of rich cultural heritage of Sri Lanka ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senani Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing