We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Senani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Senani Hotel
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel as part of a two day trip in central Sri Lanka, the hotel is not in a great location as its at the top of a huge hill overlooking Kandy and whilst the views are great you do need a taxi or Tut Tut to get in and out of town , the hotel also seems to be in the path of a troop of monkeys going form the forest above the hotel to their nests presumably lower than the hotel and whilst the monkeys look cute they are very aggresive and the hotel has signs all over the place stating you cannot open any windows or doors?. The rooms are small and in need of a makeover and the room I had the TV did not work and whilst I was tired I did not bother to complain that night when I mentioned it at breakfast I was told we know it needs a new ariel, socket, hardly good customer service . As its built on a hill the hotel,covers many floors and there is no lift so be prepared for a lot of walking . Breakfast however was very nice

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andycoldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as part of an Intrepidtravel trip round Sri Lanka and hotel was booked by Intrepid. Located up fairly steep hill above Kandy giving great views of the town below. Room very clean and comfortable and lovely balcony. Breakfast was best we had in that part of Sril Lanka. Staff very friendly and laundry service very efficient. Long walk down to town so best to get tuk-tuk down and especially back again. Cost about 300 rupees each way per tuk-tuk. Do visit the woodcarving workshop about 2 doors further along the road. Well worth a visit. Pool quite small and cold but refreshing. Only word of caution is there are lots of stairs as hotel is on about 4 floors and no lift. We stayed about 3 floors down from restaurant which is on top floor so quite a bit of climbing. Staff were super efficient at carrying bags for us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marklucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Good hotel, away from the crowds. To reach this place is slightly tough unless you are a good hill driver. Room was clean. The staff is well trained and friendly. Wifi available in the lobby area. Average breakfast as well as dinner spread for vegetarians.

Room Tip: Try to choose rooms on the upper floors to get a good view as many of the rooms were having view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AS1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We got this hotel as part of our Honeymoon Package. The hotel is on a hill so quite peaceful & green surroundings. Rooms were clean but seemed cramped due to one extra bed put in room even though only 2 of us were staying. However, good thing was there were no bugs in the bed. Buffet breakfast/lunch/dinner were low on vegetarian options. However, chef was helpful & cooked some veg dish on request. Nice & Clean swimming pool, but changing room facilities almost non existent so one has to come all the way from hotel room in swimming clothes to enjoy the pool. WiFi available only in lobby. In terms of location, it is quite far from city centre. So unless you have hired a private car, not a good option. All in all an ok experience.

Funny Incident : My hotel room key broke while opening the room...However, was quickly replaced in half hour

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GirishB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Nice modern hotel with views down into Kandy. Make sure you get a room with a view as my room looked into a concrete wall. Hotel has swimming pool.

If you have mobility problems watch out as lots of stairs in this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Good service, average rooms, average breakfast spread for vegetarians. One can just sit in the hotel's lobby area beside the swimming pool, play some board games, order some snacks and drinks and enjoy good WiFi connection. BTW, if you had bought 3G SIM which is very cheap, you anyways wouldn't bother for any kind of WiFi connection anywhere in SL.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We looked at several places before going into Senani which is a new hotel overlooking Kandy. We had to barter for the price but eventually got a nice room and half board for $85. The rooms are very comforyable, clean and fresh. There is good wifi in the comfy lounge area which has lovely views as does the restaurant through the valley to the mountains. It was a 10 minute walk down to the lake or 2 minutes in a taxi. Dinner and breakfast are buffet. Food is ok with a mix of western and local dishes. I would recommend the hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank worldwanderer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
Oak Ray Serene Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,328 reviews
1.6 mi away
View 360
View 360
#41 of 56 in Kandy
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
Serene Grand Hotel
Serene Grand Hotel
#38 of 56 in Kandy
124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 56 in Kandy
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senani Hotel

Address: No. 167/1 Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £47 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Senani Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Senani Hotel, a comfortable and luxurious hotel in the hill Capital. Here the guests can avail the modern comforts in a homely atmosphere. Relaxation in absolute Privacy in Luxury. Surrounded by breathtaking view of Sri Lanka's famous Hunnasgiriya and Knuckles mountain range. You can enjoy the warmth and traditional Kandyan hospitality and the tourists can move around easily from here and visit a large number of grand historical sites, which are part of rich cultural heritage of Sri Lanka ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senani Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing