We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel to spend one or two days.”
Review of Senani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Senani Hotel
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Budapest
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel to spend one or two days.”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

The rooms were moderate size but nice. Nice size community areas perfect for table or card games. You need a driver or a tuktuk to get to the city center as the hotel is located in the hill area(nice view from the restaurant).
The personnel was helpful but we couldn't get the Internet to a working speed. In the mornings and evenings we heard table and chair movement possibly from the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kov1krisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    128
    109
    37
    16
See reviews for
77
113
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Hotel Senani Kandy
Arrived at 1630 in light rain, as there was no room in the small reception car park our driver was directed to park in a small garage beneath the Hotel. Even he of multiple driving skills stated it was very difficult down the 45 degree access into an extremely tight parking spot. There was then a long climb to the hotel reception where we were dealt with efficiently. Next a further climb to our room some three floors up. The room was reasonable with the usual facilities of TV, small fridge, small safe, bathroom with shaver point, hair drier and shower. There were very limited views from our room and the hotel itself is quite a long climb and distance from Kandy City centre.
Food was to prove to be good, with views down the steep valley towards Kandy. We requested a Sri Lankan Ayurvedic speciality called Kola Kanda for breakfast, this was produced with large smiles next day and subsequently during our stay. To our great delight a local wedding party appeared during breakfast and so we were privileged to participate in the celebrations during the various times we were in the hotel, even being presented with wedding cake.
A visit to the Temple of the Tooth proved to be most enlightening and enjoyable. Other than that the lasting impression of Kandy will be the requirements for tips for the least service from all you meet, from the local TukTuk driver to the shoe store boys in the temple.

Room Tip: Go for a delux room as these are higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveladviser43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Senani hotel is located in a hilly area above Kandy. The hotels location gives you a very beautiful views over a part of Kandy. That is a nice plus. Another positive thing about Senani hotel was full buffet breakfast. Nice selection of cold as well as hot dishes. That is all I can say about this hotel. Service, room and restaurant was nice but nothing special. Staff was polite and tried their best.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mirapeaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Senani hotel is located near the center of Kandy and most of tourists attraction but in my opinion is good for a short stay - 2-3 days. I spent there only 1 night and it was ok. but for longer stay I would probably ask for changing my room. This was located in the lower part of hotel, with view on the wall and very close to second building (with rooms for drivers and staff). Unfortunatelly all noises to late night was clearly audible... Anyway the room was clean and comfortable - with AC, all TV set and nice bathroom. In the hotel you have a lot of stairs so you should be prepare on that. Restaurant is very nice, with good food (sri lanka and continental). The view from the restaurant is amazing and the staff is really nice and helpfull. Big PLUS - very good wi fi connection in the hotel - fast and enable sending big files. So when you travelling around sri lanka and have a plan to stay in Kandy just for a while - Senani hotel is ok, but I don't think that it will be a good choice for longer holiday.

Room Tip: Book the rooms in the upper parts of the hotel, overlooking the swimming pool or the city. The lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
457 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel as part of a two day trip in central Sri Lanka, the hotel is not in a great location as its at the top of a huge hill overlooking Kandy and whilst the views are great you do need a taxi or Tut Tut to get in and out of town , the hotel also seems to be in the path of a troop of monkeys going form the forest above the hotel to their nests presumably lower than the hotel and whilst the monkeys look cute they are very aggresive and the hotel has signs all over the place stating you cannot open any windows or doors?. The rooms are small and in need of a makeover and the room I had the TV did not work and whilst I was tired I did not bother to complain that night when I mentioned it at breakfast I was told we know it needs a new ariel, socket, hardly good customer service . As its built on a hill the hotel,covers many floors and there is no lift so be prepared for a lot of walking . Breakfast however was very nice

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andycoldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as part of an Intrepidtravel trip round Sri Lanka and hotel was booked by Intrepid. Located up fairly steep hill above Kandy giving great views of the town below. Room very clean and comfortable and lovely balcony. Breakfast was best we had in that part of Sril Lanka. Staff very friendly and laundry service very efficient. Long walk down to town so best to get tuk-tuk down and especially back again. Cost about 300 rupees each way per tuk-tuk. Do visit the woodcarving workshop about 2 doors further along the road. Well worth a visit. Pool quite small and cold but refreshing. Only word of caution is there are lots of stairs as hotel is on about 4 floors and no lift. We stayed about 3 floors down from restaurant which is on top floor so quite a bit of climbing. Staff were super efficient at carrying bags for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marklucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Good hotel, away from the crowds. To reach this place is slightly tough unless you are a good hill driver. Room was clean. The staff is well trained and friendly. Wifi available in the lobby area. Average breakfast as well as dinner spread for vegetarians.

Room Tip: Try to choose rooms on the upper floors to get a good view as many of the rooms were having view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AS1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#22 of 55 in Kandy
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.6 mi away
View 360
View 360
#32 of 55 in Kandy
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 55 in Kandy
1,073 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oak Ray Serene Garden Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senani Hotel

Property: Senani Hotel
Address: No. 167/1 Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Senani Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Senani Hotel, a comfortable and luxurious hotel in the hill Capital. Here the guests can avail the modern comforts in a homely atmosphere. Relaxation in absolute Privacy in Luxury. Surrounded by breathtaking view of Sri Lanka's famous Hunnasgiriya and Knuckles mountain range. You can enjoy the warmth and traditional Kandyan hospitality and the tourists can move around easily from here and visit a large number of grand historical sites, which are part of rich cultural heritage of Sri Lanka ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Senani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senani Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing