We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & cosy”
Review of Hotel Elephant Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Elephant Bay
Ranked #3 of 12 Pinnawala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I was given a room good for three and got lucky to have a nice view of the river. The staff are helpful and friendly. I used the hotel as my base going to my day tour of Kandy , Sigiriya & Dambulla area.

Room Tip: right side have a more good view of elephant taking their morning bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaunt_ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

Fortunately we have stayed only 1 night. The hotel has nice location, it stands directly at bank of a river where the big herd of elephants from nearby orphanage come to bathe. However, the hotel itself is dated and not clean. Athough we arrived late in the afternoon, our room was not ready and when we got it, it looked like they had exchanged only bed sheets, even the trash bin was full. There was a wedding that took place at the hotel the night before and they were just leaving, it seemed that they did not care about the new guests. The hotel was almost empty.
I would consider staying in another hotel even for 1 night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miskos182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Me and my partner stayed here in February and thought it was lovely. It was a lot more posh than we thought from the pictures. Rooms were lovely and we asked for a river view room, where the view was unforgettable. With the elephants they were there between 10-12 and 2-4 as they come from the orphanage( which I would NOT recommend as they are not treated the way they should!!) you are able to see them in the river and have contact with them and the view from that area was unbelievable. We spent a few hours just watching them. It is however ruined by the chains and men moving the elephants with the sharp sticks, not how a sanctuary should be treating such wonderful creatures. All in all a lovely stay

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkypwrky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

It’s a joy to see so many mammals up so close, the place brings one closer to nature, and it leaves one amassed as these giants a so friendly. Must add in your to do list, in Lanka. The Laksala store outside the orphanage is also the best place to stop for souvenirs. They have a wide range of products. Just mentally be prepared as the staff is extremely greedy for constant tips. This unfortunately may put u in bad taste. But simply prioritizes as pinnawala is all about the elephants.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choliexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We booked throught a travel agent 5 rooms. Our group consisted og 5 childrena dn 8 adults. One of them could speak local Sinhaleselanguage.The staff did not understand Englishor even local language. There was inordinate delayin taking orders and they were not quick to furnsh the vouchers for the bar orders. Many a time the orders were incorrect they they were charging as they please. Service on the whole is very poor.Many inaccuracies and as a big group we felt we were treated badly. During the breakfast they were cleaning the dining room with dust flowing allover the palce. The manager had very little control over the staff.
I would srtongly recommend cheque your order and the billingand do not suffer overcharging

Room Tip: choose rooms wehre they can see the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudhi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Dirty, old, no hot water, noisy, lots of insects. We saw lizard under our bed.
First night we arrived there was a wedding party that lasted until early hours of the morning.
We couldn't have a good night sleep.

I do not recommend this place to anyone.
The only reason to go to this hotel is the morning elephant bath.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissisJaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night. The rooms were reasonably clean, but the bathroom had quite some room for improvement.

The breakfast was called a buffet but was very poor: there were flies on every piece of food and what was beneath didn't look very appetizing. We settled for toast with butter.

It is a nice spot to view the elephants taking a bath in the river in the morning, however.

Overall: we wouldn't go a second time.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Asus1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinnawala
16.5 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0 mi away
Cafe Pinnalanda
Cafe Pinnalanda
#5 of 12 in Pinnawala
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pinnalanda
Hotel Pinnalanda
#4 of 12 in Pinnawala
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Pinnawala Homestay
Villa Pinnawala Homestay
#6 of 12 in Pinnawala
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ma Oya Retreat
Ma Oya Retreat
#6 of 13 in Pinnawala
1 reviews
0 mi away
Elephant Reach Villas in Pinnawala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elephant Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elephant Bay

Address: Hotel Elephant Bay Road, Pinnawala, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Pinnawala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Pinnawala
Price Range: £25 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Elephant Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Pinnawala, Hotel Elephant Bay is right across from the famous elephant orphanage. It provides rooms with large private balconies and spectacular views of Ma Oya River.Rooms are bright and airy, with simple decor and furnishings. They feature a flat-screen cable TV, a tea/coffee maker and private bathroom facilities.Guests can enjoy leisurely strolls in the tropical garden or make use of the hotel’s sun terrace. The Elephant Bay Hotel offers bike rental facilities for guests’ convenience. Various activities like hiking and fishing are available.Ivory Inn Restaurant serves international dishes. Room service is provided.The Elephant Bay Hotel is a 70-minute drive from Bandaranaike International Airport and a 2-hour drive from Colombo. It is an easy drive to cities like Kandy and Nuwara Eliya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Elephant Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Elephant Bay Sri Lanka/Pinnawala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing