We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice view, Old rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Elephant Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Elephant Bay
Ranked #3 of 11 Pinnawala B&B and Inns
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice view, Old rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is the best hotel to watch elephants. I was there with my son for 01 night. Although the place is best to watch elephants, I wasn’t happy with the room facilities. We were at deluxe room with the nice balcony overlooking river and it was one of the best room to watch elephant bathing. It was a spacious room with comfy beds but linen was pretty old (as rooms and the TV) and there were some stains on it! Bath towels were clean but again OLD and one with small patch! Closet doors were very noisy and someone has to put little oil to make them use. Lots of red ants were waiting in corners and since there was no minibar, we had to do some old day techniques to keep my child’s sweets away from them.
Despite all, the Manager (who was waiting for us until 10.30pm) and the Steward who served us during our stay was very friendly, cooperative and I must say thank to them for their great service! If I would ever think to stay again in this hotel, it’s because of the service.
But I certainly stop for lunch while watching elephants bathing which is a unique experience that you will not get from any other nearby hotels.

Room Tip: Select room with Bay view at 3rd Floor to get the best view of elephants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IUPASANTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    63
    46
    30
    21
See reviews for
67
71
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

There are three hotels of importants in Pinnawalla. One of them is Elephant Bay Hotel. It is an old hotel without lift overlooking the river where the elephants bath twice a day. You can see it all first in line and it is a marvellous show they are putting on for all the tourists. Unfortunately it is all a moneymachine and the hotel takes its part in the show. The food is really nothing to talk about and they charge you for the room on arrival - howcome? The staff is helpful but they "forgot" to tidy our room. Instad we were offered to change room which didn't seem allright - I mean why should we bother to pack all our stuff because they had made a mistake?
Nevertheless we had a spectacular view from our terrace and two wonderful days with the elephants and that's something we'll never forget.
By the Way - from the hotel it is possible to bath in the river together with the locals and maybe even sunbath on the hot stones in the river. That doesn't cost a rupee and is a great experience. Furthermore the hotel itself should have a direct entrance from their lawn to the river. That would be nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NL33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here with friends and my husband for one night and it was easily the best spot to see the elephants bathe in the river. The hotel is located right by the river so you can see them even from your seat while you're having lunch in the dining area. We wanted to get closer to them so that was an easy and quick walk from the hotel to the path the elephants follow into the river. Clean room, wifi was downstairs and the food was excellent with very friendly staff! Definitely the place to stay if you're coming here to see the elephants.

Room Tip: The elephants cross into the river at 2pm until 4pm, so that'll be the time you want to reserve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XXX
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

the Hotel has seen better times and check in was very slow. The Restaurant caters more to tour Groups. Food was nice and breakfast the standart. BUT it is the best place to see the Elephants bathing. 14:00 -16:00 in the afternoon. Therefore we would go again. You can sit in the garden, sip a tea and watch the Elephants and the time to go by.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoachimG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We selected that hotel for one night stay. We were not sure about that place because it is so cheap in price. But the welcome to the hotel was so nice. They sent a porter to carry our bags. Room was clean. All the necessary things were included. The greatest thing was the amazing view from our room itself. We saw some elephant were bathing in the river. Please remember to ask for a room with river view. There is also a place to sit and watch the elephant bathing. We can touch them also in that place. It was so good.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank shalika c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mo i Rana, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Try to arrive Hotel Elephant Bay befor the afternoon bathing time for the elephants. You will have a fantastic view together with a lot fewer guest than the other Elephant Hotel. Stay over night and sit the same place next morning for the elephants morning bath. You will have a much better experience than in a visit to the orphanage, - Hotel has A/C in the rooms. Rooms are ok. The pasta for dinner is cheap end tasteful. Breakfast is simple, but ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This hotel would have to be the perfect location from which to witness the incredible spectacle of the elephants bathing. Its location is also within walking distance of the elephant orphanage. The staff are friendly and eager to please and the food, although fairly basic, was beautifully presented and tasty.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trisha48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinnawala
12.2 mi away
Hotel Sunrich
Hotel Sunrich
#55 of 65 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
15.5 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 65 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Elephant Park
Hotel Elephant Park
#1 of 11 in Pinnawala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pinnalanda
Hotel Pinnalanda
#2 of 11 in Pinnawala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elephant Reach Villas in Pinnawala
0.1 mi away
Villa Pinnawala Homestay
Villa Pinnawala Homestay
#5 of 11 in Pinnawala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elephant Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elephant Bay

Property: Hotel Elephant Bay
Address: Hotel Elephant Bay Road, Pinnawala, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Pinnawala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pinnawala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Elephant Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Pinnawala, Hotel Elephant Bay is right across from the famous elephant orphanage. It provides rooms with large private balconies and spectacular views of Ma Oya River.Rooms are bright and airy, with simple decor and furnishings. They feature a flat-screen cable TV, a tea/coffee maker and private bathroom facilities.Guests can enjoy leisurely strolls in the tropical garden or make use of the hotel’s sun terrace. The Elephant Bay Hotel offers bike rental facilities for guests’ convenience. Various activities like hiking and fishing are available.Ivory Inn Restaurant serves international dishes. Room service is provided.The Elephant Bay Hotel is a 70-minute drive from Bandaranaike International Airport and a 2-hour drive from Colombo. It is an easy drive to cities like Kandy and Nuwara Eliya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Elephant Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Elephant Bay Sri Lanka/Pinnawala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing