We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great People Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Elephant Park
Ranked #2 of 12 Pinnawala B&B and Inns
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great People Great Place!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed two nights. The staff was great and very accommodating. Our room overlooked the river and we had some great shots of the elephants bathing. Even the surrounding shop owners were friendly. The only downfall was the hot water didn't last long enough and the internet wasn't the best…but really that wasn't the main focus. A plus was … on the 2 nights the sky was clear and you could see a million stars in the sky glistening … awesome!!!!

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the river …was great for viewing elephant bathing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CKidd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    68
    45
    12
    14
See reviews for
58
71
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed there one night. Our room was overlooking a river in which elephants were bathing. We were watching them while having breakfast on the hotel terrace. Unforgettable. It looks like paradise. The staff are super friendly, breakfast ok. Room was clean, the only turnoff were ants in the bathroom. Very good location if you want to go to the orphanage. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We visited this hotel when we were watching the elephants have their river bath, my son was ill so the manager let us have an air conditioned room with drinks while he recovered.

Many thanks to the staff and manager.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michhill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is not a luxury hotel, but it's clean, the rooms are well equipped and the staff are friendly and helpful. The sole reason to stay at the hotel is location - the elephants start coming by at 8.30am to visit the river and this hotel gives you a prime viewing position. The elephants just keep on coming!
The food and drink prices are relatively expensive for Sri Lanka and this is probably what contributes the majority of the income for this business. On the upside this means they have an active kitchen with a constant supply of fresh food coming in.
The hotel is not well signposted from the road. If you're arriving after dark, you may have trouble finding it. It's also quite a drive from the centre of Kandy, up and down winding roads for a good hour. If you're planning to visit the elephant orphanage, this place couldn't be more convenient.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first and second floors have a dining area and balcony overlooking the river. Make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The elephants bathing, sometime 40-50 at a time are great to see. The hotel room had a/c and was not sparklingly clean. The hot water system could not cope with two of us showering so one of us got cold.
However in my opinion small hotels like this should produce local well cooked food rather than try and emulate western food badly.
We arrived early and did not expect the room to be ready. The staff worked to give us a room asap and as we had just come off a night flight this was welcomed. It was suggested that we have breakfast. We were offered burgers! We managed to get omelets which were rock solid having been rather overcooked. We needed more food by 3.00 p.m. and on the menu was local curry which we asked for. Its finished. So a country renowned for curry cannot produce one that appears on a menu!
For breakfast the next day we were handed a breakfast menu. (where was that the day before?) From our experience of the day before, I asked for two fried eggs (the waiter nodded), I want my toast cooked on both sides today please (more nods). We were the only people in the restaurant at 7.30.....30 minutes later, toast-only cooked on one side, and an omelet(cold) appeared. I gave up!

This is not an expensive hotel but The management have clearly never experienced a good hotel themselves. Putting your staff out in dirty uniforms and having dirty tablecloths is not acceptable at any cost.

Room Tip: See the elephants and go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pinnawala hotels

Mumbai
Level Contributor
138 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The hotel is undergoing re-construction and refurbishing. There are only 2 rooms available and of a decent size. The bathroom could be better designed. The place is dusty and has construction debris and dust.
Under this condition, the room cost 6000 LKR which is too high.
The room is directly over the river where the elephants come to water themselves.
After 1 night of uneasy stay, I checked out the nearby hotels and selected the Elephant Bay Hotel which a big establishment with nicer appointed rooms at a cheaper rate too.
Though I brought up the construction matter to the reception, the staff was unrelenting to lower the price. Further when asked when is the construction completing, I was informed in 2 days time. From inspection, it is more likely to take 2-3 months.

Room Tip: The rooms over the river are the best to view the elephants at play.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stay at the Elephant Bay Hotel (a million miles better!)

I really wanted this hotel to be OK, it's not expensive but it's in a great location with views of the elephants bathing in the river, there are two very large balcony's to watch the elephants from.

BUT the room was absolutely awful, the towels were dirty, the bath was dirty and one window opened into another room! The water coming out the tap was brown and tbh had we had another option we wouldn't have stayed.

My advice would be to stay at the Elephant Bay hotel (next door) which is great and go for (overpriced) drinks at Elephant Park to watch the elephants.

Room Tip: Don't waste your time or money on this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KikiPigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinnawala
17.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
17.3 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 54 in Kandy
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elephant Bay
Hotel Elephant Bay
#4 of 12 in Pinnawala
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pinnalanda
Hotel Pinnalanda
#3 of 12 in Pinnawala
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green View Home Stay
Green View Home Stay
#1 of 1 in Mawanella
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Pinnawala Homestay
Villa Pinnawala Homestay
#6 of 12 in Pinnawala
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elephant Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elephant Park

Property: Hotel Elephant Park
Address: Rambukkna Rd, Pinnawala 70130, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Pinnawala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Pinnawala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting hotel is designed in a unique way with a spacious area that could accommodate 350 guests at the same time. It also gives the guests a magnificent opportunity to watch the Sri Lankan elephants bathe in the river, while you have your meals or beverages at the restaurant. This hotel consists of 6 luxurious air-conditioned rooms and a riverside bar. We also provide services for weddings, parties and other occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Elephant Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Elephant Park Sri Lanka/Pinnawala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing