We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elephants by the river”
Review of Hotel Pinnalanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pinnalanda
Ranked #4 of 12 Pinnawala B&B and Inns
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Elephants by the river”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We only ate at this hotel but thoroughly enjoyed the great location which was by the river. We got to enjoy watching the wonderful elephants have their daily bath.

We arrived at 12 pm and left at 2pm when there was a changeover in elephants so that added to the sight.

The food offered was self service banquet or basic menu. I would choose the banquet next time as I had menu envy. Not fantastic food but good food.

We got to see a wedding reception and listen to live band also which added to our Sri Lankan adventure. Food for 5 was 50 Aussie dollars including drinks

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    19
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a dump and the staff will rip you off wherever they can. We showed up with a driver and they would not let him stay there unless we paid 3000rupees. It is customary in SL to have hotels accommodate drivers. This was a first. The food was terrible. Some people got sick and had to throw up at night. Staff was unfriendly and lazy. Never again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank susannita77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pinnawala hotels

Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

The best hotel in Pinnewala next to the river where elephants come for bathing twice a day.
The room is river view, so one can also view elephants from inside the room.
Nice size clean rooms and bathrooms.
Good room services.
Just 100 meters walk from the famous Pinnewala Elephant Orphanage.

For those who want to enjoy from 8 AM till 4 PM, after that it looks like as if the whole city has been shut down.

A nice experience for families with children who enjoy watching and interacting with elephants.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Akram N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Rooms are nice, although quite pricy. On the other hand - to pay 2000 Rp/person to visit the orphanage is expensive while if you stay in the hotel you dont need to visit orphanage as you have all the elefants just under your terrace in the river. Food is very average and very costly.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Štěpán V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avissawella, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

during last weekend we visited Pinnawala Elephant Orphanage. We went to this hotel to get our lunch because location of this hotel offers a great view of elephants bathing in adjoining river. As this hotel is directly facing the river, there is a uninterrupted view of elephants in the river.
Food was not up the expectation and price was rather high. May be they are charging indirectly for the view.

Room Tip: As elephants are walking along the river, upward while they are bathing, same good views of them can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thilan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinnawala
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elephant Bay
Hotel Elephant Bay
#3 of 12 in Pinnawala
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green View Home Stay
Green View Home Stay
#1 of 1 in Mawanella
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Pinnawala Homestay
Villa Pinnawala Homestay
#6 of 12 in Pinnawala
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Green Land Guest House
Green Land Guest House
#5 of 12 in Pinnawala
44 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aarya Hotel
Aarya Hotel
#4 of 7 in Kegalle
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elephant Reach Villas in Pinnawala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pinnalanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pinnalanda

Property: Hotel Pinnalanda
Address: Pinnawala 71100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Pinnawala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Pinnawala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pinnalanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pinnalanda Sri Lanka/Pinnawala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing