We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
186
113
25
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
186
113
25
4
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Mr Upali was at the bus stop to meet me off the bus from my long bus trip .
I had made no reservation, very impressive .A great welcome , lovely clean room with fan.Straight away booked on a safari to Kaudalla . The next day a day trip ( with his bicycle ) to the site . The day after a day trip to Sigirya and Dambulla with his excellent tuc tuc driver Nuwan. The last day to the two sites would be difficult alone , having transport made it very relaxing.Saman has excellent English

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank maranjo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at this guest house. This is a family run business and we chose to stay here based on the review in the lonely planet, and the other trip advisor reviews. The room is basic (particularly if you may be staying in hotels in other areas as part of your trip), BUT the room was clean as was the bathroom, there is wifi and the considerable plus side of staying here is that the owner, and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. We ate here both nights of our stay and the food was fantastic. The roadside noise can be a distraction but you could ask for a room further from the road, or pack ear plugs.

Another benefit was that we met other travellers and got to chat with them about other parts of Sri Lanka they had visited and vice versa. As a result of that we changed some of our plans and moved around some of our other bookings, and may have missed that opportunity otherwise.

One point to consider is that when we settled our bill the owner mentioned booking.com charge them 15%. That may well be a standard charge but it's a lot for a small business in a country like Sri Lanka. We chose to leave a larger tip to cover this for them.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PeteF174
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Mr Upali was an excellent host and did all he could to make ours stay a pleasant one. The rooms were large and clean and the location wss good although some traffic noise. We were able to wash and dry our clothes here which was greatly appreciated.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We stayed here because we had seen this place advertised on our Lonely Planet guide, and we were extremely satisfied! Although we only payed to stay for one night, the owner was kind enough to let us leave our bulky bags there for one day while we visited the Polonnaruwa ruins. He also helped us organize an elephant safari trip to Minneriya National Park (which we really wanted to do), and it was very convenient since the van picks you up right there at the guesthouse! They also rent out bikes (convenient if you plan to visit the ruins, since they're very close by) for 300 rupees a day, but on the first day they let us use them for free (since we only needed them to go get some lunch) which was really nice of them. The dinner and breakfast are superb! There's lots to eat for a reasonable price. The rooms are spacious and clean and come equipped with mosquito nets, which are extremely convenient. I definitely would recommend staying here!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howleficent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We slept here just one night. The room was fine, clean with mosquito net and fan. The dinner was ok, the breakfast very simple (maybe it was the only slightly negative note).

Here you can rent some bycicles that are also the best way to see the monument in the big park. Everything was fine and easier. They gave us direction to take the bus to trincomalee.

Room tip: If the noise is a problem for you maybe ask them for a room far from the principal street.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jdoppia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews