We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For one night ok”
Review of Manel Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manel Guest House
Ranked #2 of 60 Polonnaruwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Varna, Bulgaria
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“For one night ok”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Location is close to polonnaruwa enter. Food is ok. In evening a lot of mosquitos due to the paddy fields next to the hotel but they have a mosquitonet above the bed. Cleanliness is medium. All in all it was ok for one night.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank F V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    62
    40
    15
    10
See reviews for
26
91
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The grounds are nice to eat out in, and I enjoyed the food I had, more expensive than around the clock tower area. The people were quite friendly. The wifi is offered locally and kept cutting out it was regularly unreliable. The room wasn’t very clean and some items in the room were not in good repair. Lots of bugs here at night due to the surrounding farm land and gaps in windows and doors. The hotel is ok but the rooms are not worth the advertised 2500 rps for the upstairs, and the downstairs rooms are dark and not so nice despite being cheaper. I did find them constantly asking if I wanted to buy something (breakfast, a bike, safari etc) annoying. I am all for generating business but it was too much.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatty_Rascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Habarana, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

stayed one night and was up very early the next morning. dinner was nice and the staff are friendly and helpful. they have bikes to rent. the rooms are modest but there is a nice view from the upstairs rooms.

Room Tip: stay upstairs, nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bec f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a downstairs room. The room was quite basic and came with 2 beds (a double and a single), mosquito nets and hot water. We noticed right away that the windows did not close (weren't designed to close the whole way) and the room was filled with mosquitoes. The owner, who was extremely nice and helpful, brought us towels that had seemed to have lost their white color ages ago. The restaurant is located outside on the front porch and has a nice country vibe to it. The food was fine but not spectacular. Overall, very basic accommodation at a budget price.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Manel Guesthouse is currently a quite basic place, but there is a new building with superb views (and eventually with a rooftop-restaurant?) and even a swimmingpool under construction now. Our upstairs room (LKR 3000) was okay if small, with nice views of the ricepaddies and sunset from the balcony. Only the toilet was not flushing properly sometimes...The location of Manel Guesthouse is perfect for visiting the ancient city and the very good Museum of Polonnaruwa. Staff is very friendly and helpful, can arrange tours and we had a lot of fun with them at their New Year´s BBQ. It is a good option for budget travellers.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms tend to be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Balloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The mixed reviews are based on there being several different types of rooms. Downstairs are the budget rooms, quite basic, but looked reasonably comfortable. Upstairs are the nicer, newer rooms with nice sunlight, newer bathroom, and still a great value.

I was happy with the stay here, it was comfortable and a great location. Not too far from the ruins, we rented bikes next door at the fruit shop to explore the ruins. Great stay, would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are much better and cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas,TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

For starters, the pics listed on this website are NOT representative of the actual premises. I don't believe the main building they have pictured even exists on the property. The staff was friendly but the room was unacceptable...mainly the bathroom. The room was dirty, the sheets dingy, tons of bugs, and a terribly uncomfortable mattress complete with pillows that felt like rocks. Our bathroom was continually flooded leaving a 1" puddle across the entire bathroom floor for hundreds (and I'm not kidding) of bugs to die in. We had to ask for towels, toilet paper, and a squeegee for the floor. The towels were not fresh, were paper thin and looked as if they should have been retired to rags years ago. The stopper was missing from the sink which made laundry impossible. The food was below average and expensive. Honestly, I'm about as easy going as one can be but I was really disappointed with this place and would not stay here again. The location was very good...close to the ruins... I guess if you don't mind gross bathrooms, the rest of it would have been tolerable at best.

Room Tip: Stay away from #5!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogangel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Polonnaruwa hotels
2.4 mi away
Tishan Holiday Resort
Tishan Holiday Resort
#3 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
182 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
#4 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
109 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sudu Araliya
Hotel Sudu Araliya
#7 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
519 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lake Hotel
The Lake Hotel
#9 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
408 reviews
2.0 mi away
Seyara Holiday Resort
Seyara Holiday Resort
#2 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manel Guest House

Property: Manel Guest House
Address: New Town Road, Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Polonnaruwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Manel Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manel Guest House Sri Lanka/Polonnaruwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing