We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Private Day Trip To Sigiriya rock And Polonnaruw Ruins
2

Book in advance
from
£121.48
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Gal Vihara
from £121.48
More Info
from £64.79
More Info
Reviews (858)
Filter reviews
858 results
Traveller rating
599
209
43
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
599
209
43
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock temple sri lanka statues of lord buddha granite carvings image gal shoes century examples arts relief monument knees vihara
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 858 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2019

This was probably my favourite of the area, as it is slightly in the shade. Be aware that the sand is still very hot so if you prefer have a second pair of socks to put on when taking your shoes off. I did it bare feet and I was hopping very quickly from buddah to buddah.

Once again the site is enormous so having a driver/guide of self-guide on bicyles perhaps - but with limited time, I think I prefer a guide.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank stark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2019

This was the highlight of the visit to Polonnuruwa (ancient city), it helped the sculptures are in the shade (easy to have shoes off). The figures were sculptured out of one block of granite, (impressive), as told by our guide. this was the end of a wonderful visit to the site. Definitely a must see.

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank JnVSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2019 via mobile

We went on an organised trip which was so worth it... our guide was very informative. So emotional seeing these enormous Buddha statues.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2019

me and my family visited the place last year,we had a guide,driver and the place was so amazing Buddha statues,standing ,meditating,and sleeping structures were there,giant creations must appreciate,

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank umesha1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2019

These carved Buddhas are huge. The stone is beautiful. You'll need to dodge the cheeky monkees to get to the statues.The monkees will steal from you. Shoes will need to be removed to get close to the statues.

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank nae21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews